Sunday Salon – May Day + 1

Good Sunday to you.  I haven’t gotten much reading done this week.  There has been a lot going on with family, very exciting and a bit overwhelming.  All good.

I want to write a long, wordy bookish post but am just not up to it.   I do plan on reading The Summer Book this afternoon and perhaps some of  The Age of Wonder. I leave you with this photo of one of the 5 Lilacs shared between our and our neighbor’s backyards.  They are lovely this time of year.

To find out about the Sunday Salon visit this link. Have a great day.

24 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

24 responses to “Sunday Salon – May Day + 1

  1. Oh! I totally forgot yesterday was May Day…bad me!! :)

  2. Yours lilacs are gorgeous! I just bought The Summer Book on my trip to NYC a couple weeks ago – look forward to your thoughts. Have a great week!

    • Thanks JoAnn. We have a really old Lilac that is lovely but has little scent and a couple of newer strains. A neighbor down the hill has one that is a really dark purple.

  3. There is something I should consider planting myself. Lovely.

  4. Gorgeous lilacs! I’ve always wondered how they know to come out for Mother’s Day….

    • I don’t know how they do that! Ours started really early and then stopped for a bit before bursting into bloom all at once.

  5. I’ve had The Summer Book on my shelves for a while now, I really should make the time to read it (but then I could say that about the other 150+ books on there! ;) )

    I look forward to hearing what you think of it.

    • Thanks Darren! My books are piling up and I have made a promise to myself to always be reading a book I own along with my library books.

  6. I am HOPING to curl up with Storm Prey this afternoon. We’ll see if my family lets me. Family distractions however ARE good,but they do get in the way of the blogging thing, don’t they?

  7. Your lilacs are beautiful! I love the title of The Summer Book. Happy reading and have a great week!

  8. I’ve been really curious about The Age of Wonder and look forward to reading your thoughts on it. I had hoped to snuggle up and get some reading done today, but it hasn’t worked out quite that way. Hopefully tonight I can sneak some in before bed.

    • Feline – The Age of Wonder is dense and will-written. I may have to buy the paperback as my library book is about to come due and there are many people waiting for it! I hope you got to read a bit on Sunday.

  9. I can’t wait to hear about The Age of Wonder. I am 16th on the hold list at my library…argh!

    • Priscilla – The Age of Wonder is fascinating, and dense. I may end up buying the paperback as my library book is due in a few days and my reading has been slow of late. Thanks for your comment!

  10. Wow! those lilacs are absolutely gorgeous!! They must smell incredible. I was actually looking for The Summer Book today while at the bookstore and they didn’t have it :( Bummer. They had a few other Tove Janson books though. Everything she’s written really sounds wonderful!

    • Thanks Chris. I hope you guys are okay down there. I am impressed by the number of books that NYRB has/is publishing. I want to read many of them:)

  11. Happy reading in May, Gavin. I’m not really a flowers guy, but your lilacs are…what’s the word?…beautiful!

    • Richard – Not a flower guy? More of an empanada and beer guy? Along with the latest by Bolano of course. I miss reading with all of you. I many have to jump in over the summer.

  12. I envy you your Lilacs! They are my favorite flower and they don’t grow here in florida :o(

Leave a Reply

