Sunday Salon – Here comes the sun!

Happy Sunday Salon to you!  I spent most of the week away from the computer on a camping trip with 35 students between the ages of 7 and 11.  We had wonderful weather, great low tides at the beach and the most serious injury was a brush with a large Stinging Nettle (they get up to over 6 feet around here).

Needless to say I did not get much reading done.  Well, other than Doctor Dolittle, which is a great bedtime story.  I did finish a book for the Spotlight Series which is focusing on the books published by NYRB Classic.  Please visit the Spotlight blog over the next week and read the great collection of reviews.

Saturday was my first day on the beach for this year’s volunteer Beach Naturalist program.  With everything that is happening in the world right now it is one thing I can do to help people understand the place where they live.  It is my 9th year, the program is constantly improving, and the new volunteers are just amazing.  I feel blessed to be able to take part in this educational effort.

Because the last 6 weeks of school are always rushed and crazy I feel like I have fallen behind in my reading and blog posts but I am not going to fret about it.  We all go through times like this.  I have one book nearly finished and another I want to review and if that happen within the next week I’ll be satisfied.  What are you reading today?  What are your reading plans for the week?

6 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

6 responses to “Sunday Salon – Here comes the sun!

  1. I think it is wonderful that you are a volunteer for that program! As a gulf coast state, we are going to be in a world of hurt this summer, with that oil coming our way. It makes me want to cry when I think about the wildlife and our beautiful beaches.

    I’m pretty excited for school to end as well. It is so busy right now. I’m ready to do some sleeping in!

    • I am thinking about all of you along the coast. I am very, very angry but not sure what to do about it other then by supporting the clean-up effort. Do you all have plans for the summer?

  2. That sounds like a great week!! Beach Naturalist sounds like an awesome project and I think it’s awesome that you’re involved :D

    And boy are you right about falling behind during the busy times! I felt horrible about falling behind this past week myself. It got so busy at the hospital, but I decided not to fret as well. We’ll all still be here for each other when things settle down ;)

  3. Ti

    I am in the final weeks of school (for my kids) so it may get a bit more hectic before things die down but that’s okay. There is an end in sight now ;)

Leave a Reply

