Sunday Salon – Rushing Into Summer

Happy Sunday to you all.  I cannot believe it is almost the end of May.  With camping and student projects and the end of the school year madness, it is hard to take a breath.  I feel like my reading and this blog have suffered, but that is the way things go at this time of year.

I took part in the Spotlight Series this week and it was a great way to become familiar with NYBR Classics.  This small publisher is bringing many older “lost” titles back into print.  There is great variety, something for everyone.

And I read and reviewed my second play.  I have to thank Vasilly for suggestion this genre.   It is wonderful, reading the words and directions of an author and visualizing the action on stage. “Anna in the Tropics” has me even more convinced about reading the latest translation of “Anna Karenina” over the summer.  Then there is Nymeth’s idea about reading “Middlemarch” together.  This is a book I’ve had on my shelf for years.  Then there are all those new titles I have on my TBR list.  So many good books to choose from!

Today I need to do house stuff, laundry and cleaning, but I also plan on spending time with Jo Nesbo’s third novel published in the US, “The Devil’s Star”.  What about you?  What are you reading today?

8 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

8 responses to “Sunday Salon – Rushing Into Summer

  1. I agree that this is the time of year where blogging and reading suffers. Hopefully school will be coming to an end soon for you.I just finished the semester and have started reading again.

    So glad you liked Anna in the Tropics! Drama is such a great genre to read in. Today I plan on finishing Talent is Overrated by Geoff Colvin. Have a great Sunday and happy reading!

  2. I just got two new books from Open Letter Press. One I finished and the other I’ll be starting today.

    The Bloomsbury Group is another great collection of lost classics reissued. I just reviewed A Kid for Two Farthings, which wasn’t the type of think I usually read but I loved it.

  3. I feel like I am hanging on by my fingernails, trying to get the kids through the last couple weeks of school, with all that banquets and concerts and finals and projects. Serenity now! I am just finishing up Alison Bechdel’s Fun Home. Whew! What an intro to graphic novels!

    • Sandy, I am glad you enjoyed “Fun Home”. As for the end of the school year, I just try to remember to take deep breaths!

  4. This is such a busy time of year! I was happy to finish Molly Fox’s Birthday last week, but now haven’t even picked up a book since Saturday! The P&V translation of Anna Karenina is excellent and Nymeth is tempting me, too, with the Middlemarch read-along,

Leave a Reply

