Sunday Salon on Monday

I missed out on Sunday Salon yesterday ’cause I spent alot of the day on the beach, in the rain, helping people identify all the cool animals they were seeing during a -2.1 low tide.  I did not take photos but we saw many of these and these

Purple Sea Star

Aggregating Anemone

and a few of these.

Moon Jelly

I spent a few quiet moments thinking about the disaster in the Gulf of Mexico and about all the animals and people who are suffering there.

As for reading I started Hilary Mantel’s A Place of Greater Safety and am amazed at her skill and ability.  Have a great week.

10 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

10 responses to “Sunday Salon on Monday

  1. Fantastic pictures, Gavin. Thank you for sharing. The news about the Gulf are so depressing and enraging :\

  2. Those are such awesome pics!! A purple seastar?? I love it! Sounds like a great day. The news doesn’t seem to be getting any better down here :/ But we do what we can to keep going!

    • Chris – Those purple sea stars can be any color from orange to deep red to blue to purple! I’m glad to see your garden is doing well.

  3. How beautiful! And I bet you would love the book The Highest Tide by Jim Lynch. It’s a YA coming of age book but also a veritable reference book on the creatures of the tide. It’s both entertaining and informative.

    • rhapsody – Thanks! I actually read The Highest Tide when it come out. It takes place around Olympia, WA and the southern end of Puget Sound.

  4. I’ve never seen a purple seastar before so I love the picture. Having reading Mantel. I haven’t read anything by her and didn’t know she had anything else published besides Wolf Hall. Have a great week.

  5. A quiet time of reflection. A lovely day.

Leave a Reply

