Sunday Salon – June Craziness


Good Sunday Salon to you.  This has been a absolutely crazy week.  So crazy I haven’t been able to finish the book I’ve been reading for the last 2 1/2 weeks.  Admittedly it is a 700 plus page brilliantly dense novel about the French Revolution, but still, it is actually over-due at the library, something I very rarely allow to happen.  With any luck I will have it finished and reviewed by the end of this week.

I will be on the beach for the low tide today so will not get much reading done.  I did manage to get to the library and pick up some great books including Black Water Rising by Attica Lock, The Years With Laura Diaz by Carlos Fuentes and, for the Japanese Literature Challenge, Teach Us To Outgrow Our Madness by Kenzaburo Oe.  I am thrilled about all of them.  What are your reading plans for today?  This week?



10 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

10 responses to “Sunday Salon – June Craziness

  1. I’m going for a reading blitz this week. Next week I leave for a long vacation so I’m going to try to get as many books read and reviewed as possible before leaving.

    It should be fun.

  2. I’m wondering if you are reading Citizens, too…. I “read” (better verb: skimmed) it last week. Just could not get really, really into it. Read too much like a textbook for me, I think.

  3. If I get through my stack for JLC4 challenge, Oe will be the next author added to my list. Yesterday I finished The Forgotten Garden, and will peruse the stacks and see what appeals to me later today. By Thursday, I’ll have a new title to read for book club.

  4. I haven’t read any Kenzaburo Oe yet, but I have A Personal Matter waiting for me on the coffee table. I’d like to read Teach Us To Outgrow Our Madness, and I hope Claire will still hold the discussion on A Quiet Life in July. He’s a new author to me; have you read his work before?

    • Bellezza, I have not read Kenzaburo Oe. There are few Japanese authors I am familiar with, which is why I am so excited about JLC4!

  5. Eva

    Those are all books I want to see your thoughts on! I hope you finish up the overdue book soon. :) And I miss the beach!

    • Eva – Thanks for your comment. I hope I get through those three books in a reasonable time, I finally finished the one that is overdue!

Leave a Reply

