Clan Apis by Jay Hosler, Ph. D.

Clan Apis by Jay Hosler, Ph.D.

Active Synapse, Columbus, 2000

Borrowed from the library.

I first learned about this wonderful graphic novel at DogEar Diary.  Thanks, Jeane!

Jay Hosler is a professor of biology who is also a comic book artist!  Clan Apis, drawn in black and white, tells the story of a young bee and her hive mates.  It is packed with lots of information about hive structure, bee life cycles, behavior and the honey bee’s place in the world.

We first meet Nyuki in her larval stage and follow her through her changes as she matures.  Her conversations with older bees explain  the division of labor in a hive, hive social structure, pollen collection and honey production.  Leaving the hive she has many adventures, all containing interest information about honey bee ecology.

Clan Apis is beautifully illustrated, full of humor and adventure, a perfect introduction to bee biology.  I easily see it drawing in a reluctant reader and, just maybe, helping to create a budding life scientist. I plan on adding a copy of it to our school library.  I also plan on reading  Hosler’s The Sandwalk Adventures.


4 Comments

Filed under Animals, Graphic Novel Challenge 2010, Graphic Novels, Review, Science Books 2010

4 responses to “Clan Apis by Jay Hosler, Ph. D.

  1. I’m jealous! I haven’t even read it yet. My library system doesn’t carry a copy.

    • I’m so sorry! Maybe you could find a used copy at a reasonable price. Clan Apis is a great book. Now I’m going to have to find a copy his othe book, The Sandwalk Adventures!

  2. Yes, I’ll have to keep my eye out for a used or swap copy. It looks really good! And I bet I’d understand a ton more about bees from it, too.

  3. This is definitely going on my TBR list! I know that my five-year-old would be really interested in learning about bees.

Leave a Reply

