Sunday Salon – A Day Before the Summer Solstice

Good Sunday to you all.  I’m not sure how I made it through the last couple of weeks.  The end of the school year,  progress reports, reorganization of our teaching teams for the fall and conflicts between staff members.  A time that should be filled with joy and remembrance was instead unpleasant and stressful.  Sad, really.   I guess we are all ready for a break.

It is the day before the Summer Solstice and I have some time to stop and take a deep breath.   We hope to visit the seashore and spend a few days in Vancouver, BC in July.  I have things around the house I want to accomplish.  Other than that, I plan to spend time with family and friends,  take a whale-watching trip with my favorite four-year-old and his Mom, spend time in the garden and at the beach and read, read, read.  I do have books on hold at the library, but do not have a “summer reading list”.  Students and parents gave me a magnificent gift card to one of my favorite independent bookstores.  Any suggestions for “must reads” for the summer?

I did finally finish and review A Place of Greater Safety and read a wonderful graphic “novel’ about bees.   I am about to finish Black Water Rising and then will start The Makioka Sisters for the Japanese Literature Challenge.  I wish you all a wonderful week.

You can find out about Sunday Salon here.

21 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

21 responses to “Sunday Salon – A Day Before the Summer Solstice

  1. Have a wonderful summer vacation!

  2. My mom’s a music teacher and she just finished up too.

    For a great summer read I recommend Marguerite Duras’s The Sailor from Gibraltar

  3. Have you read I Capture the Castle? It’s a lovely, relaxing read for me, and totally charming as well! I hope you have a great summer break! :)

  4. Happy week, Gavin! A fave summer read would be Caramelo by Sandra Cisneros. :D

  5. It sounds like it’s good your about to start summer vacation! I hope you enjoy Vancouver, it’s so beautiful there. Summer reading choices – it depends if you want something heavy or something fun or light……any way, may I suggest Doomsday by Connie Willis? Then you can read Blackout when you come back from holidays! lol How about Jo Nesbo, or Arnaldur Indridason, Susan Hill or Martin Edwards for mysteries, or In the Garden of Iden by Kage Baker for sf? Have fun!

    • Okay, Susan, Doomsday it is. I just finished Jo Nesbo’s “The Devils Star” and am now reading “Artic Chill” by Indridason! Great minds think alike!

  6. Right there with you over the school thing! I have two more days to go but my school is merging with a school down the road and our staff has been completely overwhelmed by cleaning and packing a school that has been there since 1946. It has not played out prettily. Just two more days, just two more days.

    Enjoy your break, and after my first Muriel Spark read yesterday, I would say to put something by here on that summer reads list. Happy reading!

    • Oh, Frances, the move sounds really difficult. Just one more day! Remember to breath and have a great summer. (I’ve added Spark to my summer book list!)

  7. I’m glad that everything is slowing down for you! The last few weeks of school was hectic for me too so I understand. Happy reading!

  8. Ti

    A gift card burning a whole in your pocket, eh? I would just go to the store and browse. Pick up what looks interesting. An afternoon browsing sounds wonderful.

    • Ti – I can get lost for hours browsing in a bookstore! I have a couple of titles I want to pick up and will leave myself open for others. Have a great week.

  9. I keep reading wonderful things (or greatly anticipatory things!) about The Makioka Sisters. I’m looking forward to your thoughts when you finish it.

    My students give me book gift cards, too, which is much appreciated. Those, and lipsticks as they often see me reapply after lunch. ;)

    Happy Summer!

    • I finally started The Makioka Sisters but find I have to read it very slowly to take it all in. Gift cards are great but how do your students know your color (lipstick)? Or do they choose new ones for you?

  10. Glad you made it through that end-of-the-year craziness. Your summer sounds heavenly. I have The Makioka Sisters on my pile, too!

  11. I know the stress of year end..I just finished on June 25th. I’m still wired and trying to unwind. I just finished A Fierce Radiance by Lauren Belfer. I think if you like historical fiction..this one about the discovery of penicillin is great. Enjoy whatever you read. Happy Summer.

Leave a Reply

