Charles Darwin’s On The Origin of Species: A Graphic Adaptation

Charles Darwin’s On The Origin of Species: A Graphic Adaptation

by Michael Keller, Illustrated by Nicolle Rager Fuller

Rodale, New York, 2009

Borrowed from the library.

Published during the 150th anniversary year of the publication of On the Origin of Species, this book is a beautiful presentation of some of the strongest parts of Darwin’s argument for the evolution of species and his theory of natural selection. The beginning of the book gives some  historical and biographical information on Darwin’s background and his introduction to scientific observation. Text from Darwin’s work is woven through the stunning illustrations and Keller has made every effort to update Darwin’s ideas with our present understanding of how life evolves.

Fuller’s illustrations are beautiful and add to a basic understanding of a scientific theory that changed western science, culture and religious belief.  Having read parts of The Voyage of The Beagle and studied some of Origin in an evolutionary biology class,  I found this book a wonderful introduction to Darwin’s theory.

15 Comments

Filed under Graphic Novel Challenge 2010, Graphic Novels, Science, Science Books 2010

15 responses to “Charles Darwin’s On The Origin of Species: A Graphic Adaptation

  1. It looks so beautiful. I only wish my library had a copy so I could read it.

    • Oh, Jenny, I’m sorry your library doesn’t have the Darwin book. My library is very good at ordering books when patrons request them.

  2. I really enjoyed this book – especially the stunning art!

  3. My home library never has this, although it looks so gorgeous! But the university library here supposedly has it – I’m just waiting for them to process it. Can’t wait to read it!

  4. This would definitely be a different type of graphic novel than I’ve been exposed to so far. I’m going to see if my library has it…

  5. I know it’s possible for me to do that, but when I look at the online form you have to fill out a spot about “why-would-this-make-a-good-addition-to-our-collection” and all I can think is: “because I want to read it!” and that doesn’t sound good enough!

  6. What an interesting book! I’ve never heard of graphic nonfiction before. Good stuff.

  7. ela21

    How interesting. I’m currently reading the Vintage edition of On the Origin of Species, and a few pictures would probably help!

    • This is a great adaptation. There is also an illustrated version of Origin edited by David Quammen. I treated myself to a copy for the 150th anniversary.

  8. Pingback: Michael Keller – Charles Darwin’s On the Origin of Species: A Graphic Adaptation « Fyrefly's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

