Sunday Salon – Another Beach Day!

Good Sunday Salon to you!  I seemed to have skipped a week, what with holiday picnics and all.  Today I will be on the beach for another super low tide.  This is a wonderful time to find many of the animals that live in the mid to low intertidal zone and talk about the importance of the near shore for the health of Puget Sound and all the creatures that share this lovely body of water.

This is an Orca (Orcinus orca – known more commonly as a Killer Whale) spy-hopping.  We have three, yes THREE, resident pods that travel our waters.  I belong to a group called Orca Network.  People call in sightings and upload pictures which are sent out in an email most days.  This photo was taken by one of the members.  Fabulous, isn’t it?  I am so lucky living in a place where people see these animals every day.  I feel blessed knowing they are out there.

Books, oh yes, reading.  This summer seems to be a time  for lots of literary escapism.  Along with my challenge books, I have been devouring mysteries.  These are books I love but do not review.  I’m enjoying our finally sunny days with books that entertain, not feeling the need  to write something intelligent about them! What have I read?

The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest, the third book in the Millennium series by Stieg Larsson.  I’m sorry this is the last book, even though I feel it could have used some editing.  Lizbeth Saunders is a character I would love to meet again.

Arctic Chill by Arnaldur Indridason, an Icelandic author whose series of mysteries is one of my favorites among the crowd from northern Europe.

And The Broken Shore by Peter Temple, an Australian author I first read about on Mysteries In Paradise.  Thanks, Kerrie, Temple is fantastic.

I have just started Caramelo by Sandra Cisneros, a book suggested by Claire at kiss a cloud.  I’m loving it and am bringing it to the beach, for when the tide comes in.   What are you reading today?  What are your reading plans for the week?

19 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

19 responses to “Sunday Salon – Another Beach Day!

  1. Lu

    That’s so neat! We have dolphins, but no whales around here. I love whales, so I’m quite jealous ;)

  2. Oh, how cool! I think orcas are so beautiful, I’d love to see one but I never have.

  3. selena

    That photo is beautiful! Reading on the beach sounds heavenly today. Alas, I work on Sundays…

    • Thanks for your comment, Selena. The day started out cloudy but eventually the sun came out and it turned into a lovely afternoon.

  4. Heck with reading; I suspect I’d spend much more of my time trying to get shots of killer whales like that one if I lived in your neck of the woods.

    I’m going to check out Arctic Chill. Looks good to me.

  5. My reading plans (and this is quite odd for me) for the week are nil. I have no reading plans. I have no library books. The review that arrived last week has zero appeal to me. The Bookcrossing ring book that arrived has zero appeal. I’m going to await a good book.

  6. That is such an amazing picture! I am completely envious and agree with CB wholeheartedly. I’d be staring out at sea instead of the book. :)

    I’ve read a couple of good books this year that I don’t plan on reviewing only because I don’t think there’s much of a point (i.e. the latest Sookie Stackhouse book). They’re just so popular and I figure either you like them or you don’t.

    I am excitedly looking forward to Tana French’s newest book. Her mysteries are phenomenal!

  7. I find that I am often distracted by nature. If I were able to consistently see whales frolicking by, I’m not sure I’d get anything else done. Aren’t mysteries great summer reading? I loved the Millenium Trilogy as well…so sad for it to end. I agree the last book needed some trimming, but I still enjoyed it nevertheless.

  8. What a great picture – you are lucky to live in an area where sights like that are common! I’m reading The Last of Cheri by Colette today, and just started listening to The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. Have a great week.

    • JoAnn – You are lucky to live by the lake! I have to add The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks to my TBR list. Have a great week yourself!

  9. What a spectacular photo!!

    I am eager to hear your thoughts on the Cisneros book…that is an author I am eager to read more from …

    • Some of the photos that people send to the list are just amazing. I’m enjoying Caramelo and will write about it when I am done. Have a great week.

  10. I am so amazed by the pics of the Orcas and that you can see them every day. How cool.

Leave a Reply

