Sunday Salon – Gray Skies..

And a good Sunday Salon to you all.  I feel like curling up in bed with my coffee and a good book.  With those of you on the east coast of the US suffering 90 degree temperatures I realize I have nothing to complain about but our weather has been pretty gray for July, at least in the mornings.  Thick clouds and cool temperatures, feels like February.  Then again there were days in February that felt like July.  Confusing.  I think I need more vitamin D.

So, what have you been reading this past week?  I finished Caramelo by Sandra Cisneros and Kitchen by Banana Yoshimoto and have several books waiting for me at the library including this and this.

I have been visiting Three Percent, one of my favorite sites, and am now in a state of book lust, waiting for some new English translations including this and this and, of course, this.  I value and admire small presses, and I love that they are willing to trust their readers, knowing they will want to read these books.

Do you read books in translation?  Do you have any favorites?  Something I should know about?

As always, I am wishing everyone a wonderful Sunday and a wonderful week.  Happy reading!

15 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

15 responses to “Sunday Salon – Gray Skies..

  1. Not enough sun is not a good thing either as you suggest. Just spent my morning in the scorching heat gardening but it was lovely. Quite a great selection of books you have here today! Think we are experiencing similar book lust today. Happy reading!

    • I blame some of that book lust on my favorite blogs! The sun is out now and I have been out in the garden. Have a lovely week.

  2. I had so much book lust this weekend I had to buy some. Which I need like a hole in the head. The heat is oppressive. Apparently I drug it up to the midwest from Florida, so I am to blame for some of people’s misery.

    • Sorry the heat is so bad. I still have a lovely gift card at one of my favorite bookstores so will be indulging my book cravings later in the week. Have a good week, Sandy.

  3. We’re scorching here, too, and we’re awash in excessive humidity. All this after a marvelously cool winter. We’re suffering.

    • Oh, heat and humidity. When I visit the South or the East Coast I am reminded of how lucky I am to live in the PNW! Have a great week.

  4. I say curl up in bed with coffee and a book :) That sounds like a wonderful plan and it’s what I plan on doing for the rest of the afternoon. Sounds like just what the doctor ordered to me.

  5. I loved Caramelo (Cisneros is awesome; have you read A House on Mango Street? It’s my favorite work of hers), and Kitchen. I’d say that was a good week with those two.

    For myself, I could use some February weather now; it’s been way to sticky and thick here for my temperament. ;)

    Blessings on your week to come.

    • I turn into a slug, a grouchy slug when it gets hot and sticky! I loved both Caramelo and Kitchen. Now I want to read more Yoshimoto!

  6. It was so cold out here in Southern California until last week. Then it became so hot that I wished it would rain! I’m starting to read more books in translation and I have two on my bookshelf that I need to read soon: Anna In-Between by Elizabeth Nunez and Translation is a Love Affair by Jacques Poulin. I really want to read Out Stealing Horse by Petterson soon.

    Have a great week!

    • Thanks, Vasilly. It drives me crazy when the temperature changes 25/30 degrees in 24 hours! Out Stealing Horses is wonderful. Have a lovely week yourself!

  7. I finished Cheri and The Last of Cheri this week, and know I’ll be reading more of Colette! Look forward to your thoughts on Kitchen. It’s the only Banana Yoshimoto I’ve read, but there are 2 more of her books in the tbr pile. Hope you get some sunshine this week!

  8. selena

    You’ll love Waiting for Columbus. Ahh, can’t wait to read your review and thoughts and musings and excerpts!

    As for Seattle, well, at least it’s kind of in the upswing, weather-wise. Today it’s warm enough to wear a short short skirt.

  9. Your photo of the Space Needle made me feel homesick- but luckily I get to go visit later this summer!

Leave a Reply

