Library Loot – 8/11/2010

Hosted by Marg and Claire Library Loot is an opportunity to share our love of public libraries.  I couldn’t live without mine.  I’m there at least once a week, always have books on hold and spend time in the stacks just grabbing books with interesting titles.

I am very lucky to live in a city so willing to support their reading citizens with many local library branches, but there are budget constraints.  Branch hours have been cut and our libraries will close for one week at the end of August to save money.  Can’t complain though, there are places where entire library systems are threatened.

So, what did I bring home yesterday?  Starting at the top I have two titles for the Japanese Literature Challenge.  Silence by Shusaku Endo and Amrita by Banana Yoshimoto.

The next book is Animals by Don LePan.  I grabbed this off the new book shelf and read the blurb:

More than 100 years in the future, the horrors of factory farming, combined with the widespread abuse of antibiotics, have led to mass extinctions. As paranoia about the food supply spreads, a forceful new logic takes hold. In the blink of a millennial eye, the disenfranchised have become food.

Soylent Green?  Speculative fiction and ethics?  It sounds fascinating and terrifying and the bit I read was nicely done.  I also brought home two novels I’ve been waiting for,  The Singer’s Gun by Emily St. John Mandel and The Kings of Earth by Jon Clinch.  I’ve heard rave things about St. John Mandel and I read Clinch’s first novel, Finn, when it came out and loved it.

Finally, there is The Secret Life of Words: How English Became English by Henry Hitchings (thanks to Ana’s recommendation) and something called Rewilding the World: Dispatches from the Conservation Revolution by Caroline Fraser.

Of course I want to read all of these books, but who knows if I will manage that before they come due.  Do you rely on your local library for books?  Did you bring any books home this week?

19 Comments

Filed under LibraryLoot

19 responses to “Library Loot – 8/11/2010

  1. That bit about Animals? Scary! Seems like it might not be too far off into the future. I think you will like The Singer’s Gun, and is a really quick read.

  2. Don LePan

    Glad you liked the beginning of Animals: A Novel; hope you like the rest!
    Don L.

    PS I comment in a blog posting on how the book differs quite radically from Soylent Green–despite the superficial similarities. That’s at donlepan@blogspot.com–Feb. 4 2010.

    • Don – Thanks for your comment. It has been a long time since I saw Soylent Green and I will definitely read your blog post!

  3. Cat

    Almost all my reading comes from the library so most weeks I’ll bring a pile home .
    You have some interesting books in your loot – hope you enjoy them. :-)

  4. Lots of variety here! The Secret Life of Words sounds particularly interesting.

    Enjoy your loot!

  5. Looks like a great pile! I get nearly all my books from the local library when I am at home–it’s a fantastic library, and I miss it so much when I’m away. I will be home in two days and I know the first thing I will do is go check out a huge bag full of books. :)

  6. Looking forward to your thoughts on The Secret Life of Words!

    • Nymeth – I look forward to reading the Hitching book. I love learning about where words come from and how the meanings can change over time.

  7. Ohh Animal sounds interesting! I love speculative fiction! Great finds. Enjoy!

  8. I love my county library system. I always say that it’s the best use of my tax dollars!

    I can relate to the problem of not getting things read before they have to go back … but I can always hope.

    Happy reading!

  9. I too love my public library, and visit the branch at least once a week as well!

    Enjoy your loot!

  10. I read Silence years ago and loved it. I hope you enjoy it too.
    Much like you, I am an avid user of my public library. As a matter of fact, every book I’ve read this year has come from my public library. Fortunately, the county where I live has a superb public library.
    Nice blog you have ! I will have to drop by more often !

Leave a Reply

