Sunday Salon – Summer’s Almost Gone?

Happy Sunday to you all.  I will be heading into school this week to begin helping in the classroom and organizing the library.  Summer has passed by quickly but I feel well rested and have accomplished many of the things on my to-do list.  I really can’t wait to see the children.  They can change so much over the summer and they just love to tell stories about their summer activities.

I have spent a good part of this week at “summer camp”.  There is a method of  somatic education work called Feldenkrais.  I started taking lessons in the 90’s and somehow fell away from it.  Last year, when I injured my knee, a friend suggested I see a colleague of her’s for some body work.  It turned out she is a Feldenkrais practioner.  I had one of those “aha” moments. Why hadn’t I thought of that?

Anyway, LeeAnn helped me with my injury and I started going to Awareness Through Movement classes again.  This last week we had five days of intensive work with a master teacher.  Fantastic!  If you have issues with pain and/or injury or you practice Yoga, Tai Chi or martial arts I would suggest you check it out.

As for books, I picked up a large stack from the library and am working on a Library Loot post.  I also added several books to my to-be-read list including By The Sea by Veronique Olmi thanks to chasing bawa and Mosquito by Roma Tearne thanks to Eva.  Right now I am reading Kings of the Earth by Jon Clinch and The Passage by Justin Cronin.  How about you?   What are you reading today?  What do you plan on reading this week?

12 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon, Uncategorized

12 responses to “Sunday Salon – Summer’s Almost Gone?

  1. I’m hoping (dreaming?) to finish The Three Musketeers today. If I can just push myself away from the computer….

    • I know, I spent hours on the computer yesterday. I hope you finished The Three Musketeers. I have to admit I’ve never read it. Should I?

  2. I’m reading Peyton Place today. It was a huge bestseller and created quite a scandal in its day. I’m just about 100 pages in. It’s a bit old-fashioned, but it’s pretty good so far.

    • I remember the movie “Peyton Place” was quite risque for it’s time. I’m curious about what you think of the book. Have a great week, cbjames!

  3. Sadly I haven’t read a book all week though I’m hoping to read either Blankets by Craig Thompson or Foiled by Jane Yolen (both graphic novels). I love the excitement of the first day of school. I had my first day last week and I’m so over the excitement! :-) Have a great first week of school and be sure to let us know how it went!

    • I hope school is going well for you and that you got to read yesterday! I read Blankets some time ago and don’t really remember it. I should read it again.
      Have a great week!

  4. My summer has been over for a couple of weeks now! It scares me when I think about how fast time goes by. I’m hoping that this Sunday will not. I have alot I want to get accomplished, including sitting down and finishing my current audio (just a few more minutes left!) and getting invested in “In the Woods”.

    • Sandy – Time does go by quickly, but I’ve finally gotten to the point of not beating myself up if I don’t get everything on my to-do list accomplished. I think I am mellowing as I age, maybe like a good brandy? have a great week.

  5. I’ve heard a lot of good things about The Passage although it’s a bit of a chunkster. I’ll be looking forward to your review. Thanks for the mention. I also really enjoyed Mosquito! Enjoy!

    • Your welcome. I started The Passage and am hooked. It’s funny, it is the type of book that a judgmental part of me thinks I shouldn’t like, but Cronin is a very fine writer and I find it hard to put down!

  6. Wow! That therapy sounds incredible!! Hope it continues to work for you :) I’d love to try something like that. Even though most of my pain is in my head, I’ve no doubt that a lot of it is referred from other parts of my body..I bet it would help quite a bit.

    Hope school goes great! It’ll be nice to see the kids again I’m sure!! And please enjoy your reading :)

    • Chris – You know, Awareness Through Movement might help your head. Is it migraines? You should try and find a practitioner and ask. By the way, your garden looks lovely!

Leave a Reply

