Library Loot – 8/18/2010 to 8/25/2010

Brought to you by Claire and Marg, this is an opportunity to share all the interesting books brought home from the library this week.  I usually have several books on hold waiting for me and often just wander the stacks and grab a few more from the shelves. Our library system is closing for a week at the end of August so I grabbed a big stack of books this week, starting with:

Falling for Science: Objects in Mind by Sherry Turkle for my Science Book Challenge and Trickster: Native American Tales: A Graphic Collection edited by Matt Dembicki because it looks beautiful.  Then I grabbed some mysteries including Prayer of the Dragon by Eliot Pattison and The Man From Beijing by Henning Mankell. I had the Mankell on hold for a while.  I also found The Godfather of Kathmandu by John Burdett on the shelf.  Sonchai Jitpleecheep, the Royal Thai police detective in Burdett’s series, is quite an interesting character.


Walking through the stacks I came across How To Escape From A Leaper Colony by Tephanie Yanique (thanks, Eva!) and The Boy Next Door by Irene Sabatini.  Sabatini won the 2010 Orange Prize for New Writers for this one.

I had The Dervish House, Ian McDonald’s newest book on hold and couldn’t stop there.  On the science fiction/fantasy shelves I found Inversions by Iain M. Banks and The Chains That You Refuse by Elizabeth Bear.


And, even though I tend to avoid books that are surrounded by hype, after reading different blog reviews I fell for The Passage by Justin Cronin.  Sometimes I just have to give in!   So with these books, and a half dozen others I grabbed last week,  I have quite a stack.  The thing about library books is I can start reading them, and if they don’t click or I just can’t stand the writing, I can take them back and grab some more.

7 Comments

Filed under LibraryLoot

7 responses to “Library Loot – 8/18/2010 to 8/25/2010

  1. Some great looking books there – I really enjoyed Trickster!

  2. That is the beauty of the library…it is like going on a shopping binge, where you can totally overdo it and return anything you don’t read for a total refund! That is a big, eclectic pile of fun.

  3. What a great-looking stack! I can’t wait to read your thoughts on Trickster. It’s on my TBR list and unfortunately my library doesn’t have it. :-(

  4. That is a great haul! I love Eliot Pattison’s books which have taught me so much about Tibet. He really captures the silence and strength of the Tibetan people. And although I haven’t read any of his novels yet, I’m also intrigued by Burdett’s detective. I’m also a big fan of Ian M. Banks and have this book on my TBR pile. There’s been a lot of hype over The Dervish House and The Passage, both books I’m planning to read at some point. I think this pile will keep you busy for a while:)

    • Thanks for your comments! I am very excited about reading the Pattison books but I realized that Prayer of the Dragon is not the first in the series. I popped by my favorite used bookstore and found a perfect copy of The Skull Mantra so I will start with that one. I enjoyed The Passage and am loving The Dervish House. Ian McDonald amazes me.

Leave a Reply

