Sunday Salon – Reading – Not Just Books

And a good Sunday to you.  This week I am back at school preparing for the children.  Setting up the classrooms, having day-long planning sessions and many, many  meetings.  We are all excited to be back.

As I was thinking about what I would write for my Sunday post I realized I was sitting next to a stack of publications lying on my kitchen table.  Books are not my only reading material.  I thought it would be fun to share some of the magazines that come into our house.

Orion Magazine is a publication I have subscribed to for years.  It is a quarterly, what you could call a “nature” or “envioronmental” magazine .  It is that but it is so much more than that.  The magazine includes essays, reports from the field, fiction, poetry and artwork in just about every issue.  It is beautiful and ad-free, published by a non-profit with some of my very  favorite people on the advisory board including Terry Tempest Williams, Barry Lopez,  Bill McKibbon, W.S. Merwin, Winona LaDuke and Jane Goodall.  Orion will send you a free issue, visit their website.

Yes Magazine is a  publication with a powerful vision.  It offers practical ideas and tools for building community and supporting a healthy planet.  Their office is on Bainbridge Island, just a ferry ride away from my home town.  I love supporting a local non-profit publication.  Yes will also send a free issue, visit their website.

Good is another quarterly publication that started out ad-free and has since accepted what seems to be corporate “sponsorship” from the  likes of Pepsico and other companies.  I first picked it up because I loved the design and have continued supporting them because they do good stuff.  They are putting a lot of effort into their website and their presence on social networking sites like Facebook and, of course, Twitter.  The latest issue, build around NOLA  and the impact of hurricane Katrina, is fantastic.

There are several more magazines that we are fond of around here but I will save them for another time.  Do you have favorite publications that you subscribe to?  Care to share them?

15 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

15 responses to “Sunday Salon – Reading – Not Just Books

  1. I’m so looking forward to a time when I will be a bit more settled and thus will feel like I can subscribe to magazines. Yay for Good for doing a Katrina issue! The fifth anniversary of the hurricane is today, and although I get depressed reading so much about it, I’m glad the country’s still paying attention.

    • The New Orleans issue from Good is excellent and I hear Spike Lee has a new documentary. Have you seen “When The Levees Broke”?

  2. Best of luck to you starting the new school year! It always takes me a little bit of time before I’m in the swing of things. I subscribe to a few mags as well. Entertainment Weekly, of course, Bookmarks, Food and Wine and Bon Appetit. We never stop reading, do we?

  3. Most of what I used to read in magazines has since moved to on-line publication. I still subscribe to a couple of hobbiest magazines, both about model railroads.

  4. I love to try new magazines. I’m currently subscribing to Oprah, Real Simple, Travel and Leisure, Games, Bookmarks, and National Geographic.

  5. I love Historical Novels Review, Foreward, School Library Journal and BookPage…and I was getting a knitting magazine, but had to drop that one. I still read most of it online though. I’m back at school too. The kids come on Thursday. Have fun!

  6. I just found Yes! magazine last week and I’m loving it. I subscribed more to magazine newsletters than magazines themselves nowadays but I’m hoping to change that soon. A few magazines I enjoy picking up are Utne, The Horn Book, The Chronicle of Higher Education. Have a great week!

    • I occasionally grab Utne. We used to subscribe but had to set limit on our magazines, some of them were not getting read! Have a good week yourself!

  7. I forgot to mention Mental Floss and the Smithsonian!

  8. These sound fantastic and I’ve been craving some non-fiction, non-book reading material. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

