Sunday Salon –

A good Sunday to you.  The first few days of school with the children back in the classroom is always exciting and exhausting.  We had gray skies most of the week, but little rain, so we were able to spend some time at the park having picnic lunches and playing loud and raucous games.  Every one is so excited to see their friends and talk about their summer adventures.  By Friday all the adults were tired and happy.  A great first week.

I did manage to finish several books and get reviews written and I’m still reading Kraken.  It is very dense and convoluted,  great fun and very creepy.  I want to write about it for R.I.P. V, but am not sure what I’m going to say!  I’ve run into this problem with another book I finished recently, The Dervish House by Ian McDonald.  I loved it, but am having a devil of a time writing about it.

Has this happened to you?  You read a book you greatly admire and find yourself stuck for how to review it,  at a loss for what to write.  Any suggestions or tips on how to break through this block?

I have started another book for the R.I.P. challenge.  See if you can guess what it is.

Just as I came to this conclusion I heard heavy steps approaching behind the great door, and saw through the chinks the gleam of a coming light.  Then there was the sound of rattling chains and the clanking of massive bolts drawn back. A key was turned with the loud grating noise of long disuse, and the great door swung back.

19 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

19 responses to “Sunday Salon –

  1. I can’t wait until everyone starts posting their reviews for the RIP challenge. I didn’t sign up for it this year because I know I’ve been a challenge slacker, but it’s my favorite to read from.

  2. I’m having a hard time writing my review of Monsters of Men. I read it back in June, but I haven’t been able to find the words to describe how amazing it was. So if you figure out a trick to break through a review block of this sort, let me know! :p

    • I can’t wait to read Monsters of Men! Softdrink suggested writing about my reading experience. That sounds like a good start to me.

  3. I’m having this problem more and more these days. Sometimes it is best to just start writing and see what comes out! Whatever you write, I will be anxious to read it because I am interested in this book and this author.

  4. How about writing about your reading experience rather than the book itself? Where were you, what did it make you feel, why did you read it…

  5. This book sounds like A Christmas Carol but I know that’s not it. Hmmm. You’ll have to give the answer in your next blog post!

    I often read books and have nothing more to say than “it was good” or “meh”. A few weeks ago I read a book called The Madonnas of Echo Park by Brando Skyhorse. It was so good that I couldn’t get out a coherent review of it! I think I’m going to reread it first then review it. I really want other people to read it.

    Have a great week.

    • Rereading a book you love sounds like a really great idea. I can’t wait to see what you think of The Madonnas of Echo Park. I have it on hold at the library (I’m number 300 and something).

  6. Could it be Frankenstein? I’m due to reread this book, and just picked it up, so I guess it’s on my mind now.

    As for writing about books and not knowing what to say, I know, I have the same problem often. Or I end up with convoluted impressions that even I hardly understand! So I’m trying to keep it simple now, to make me want to write about books I enjoyed – what I liked about, if anything stands out particularly for me, characters, and anything else that catches my fancy. It’s helping me, though I still have a pile of books to review! lol

    • Nope, not Frankenstein, but that one is on my R.I.P. list.

      Your review ideas are very helpful. I’m beginning to realize I can’t write about everything, my thoughts get all jumbly..thank you, Susan.

  7. It seems to be cold and rainy everywhere today, including here.

    Yep, I had that problem just recently, as a matter of fact. Except I actually did know what I wanted to say; I just had writer’s block when it came to actually saying it. If anything, I find that even more annoying.

    • Oh, yeah. That is the hard thing. Knowing what I want to say and not knowing how to say it. I think I have to start writing more off line. That might help.

  8. Eva

    I totally freeze up when I’m trying to write about a book I really love. Sometimes, I just force myself to work through it. And other times, I end up never writing about it. :/

    Glad your first week went well!

  9. That happens to me all the time. I usually end up rambling for a while so I’ve got something down, then editing the post to clarify my opinions and add a few more salient points.

    • Rambling sounds like a good idea. Several people have given me some writing tools to work with and I hope to have a review written by the end of the week! Thanks for your comment.

Leave a Reply

