Library Loot – 9/22/2010 to 9/28/2010

Library Loot is a weekly event hosted by Marg and Claire that invites bloggers to share the books they’ve brought home from the library.  If you would like to share your library finds just click over to their webpages.

I did finally make it to the library yesterday after a two week gap!  It felt like months.  Several books that I had on hold became available and I found some great titles on the shelf.

I picked up How to Escape from A Leper Colony (Thanks to the lovely Eva), The True History of the Kelly Gang (for my personal Booker Challenge), Late Nights on Air for the Canadian Book Challenge and Breathe: A Ghost Story for R.I.P. V.

I also grabbed a couple of collections of short stories. Once the Shore by Paul Yoon and Burning Bright: Stories by Ron Rash.  I read Serena by Rash last year and loved it and read about Yoon’s collection somewhere and was intrigued.  One of the things that I love about my library is the access it gives to these kinds of books, books that I would never buy for myself.



9 Comments

Filed under Library Loot

9 responses to “Library Loot – 9/22/2010 to 9/28/2010

  1. I’ll be interested in what you think of Breathe. All the kids were reading this book a year or so ago when it was on sale at the book fair. My son, in typical fashion, read 3/4 of it then raced off to something else. I have it upstairs…let me know if I should pick it up!

  2. Great variety in your picks! I’m really looking forward to reading Late Nights on Air after hearing so many great things about it.

    Enjoy your loot!

  3. I have to say the title of “How To Escape from a Leper Colony” just intrigues me! I want to know more!

  4. I love the cover for Burning Bright :). Hope you enjoy your loot!

    • Thanks, Molly. I really like Rash’s novel. The stories take place from the Civil War to modern times, I am looking forward to reading them.

  5. Gavin, I hope you enjoy the Kelly Gang, it is absolutely wonderful!

    • Claire, I can’t wait to read the Kelly Gang. I’ve read so many wonderful reviews and comments about it and have somehow never read anything by Peter Carey.

Leave a Reply

