LIbrary Loot – 10/6/2010 to 10/12/2010

Library Loot is a weekly event hosted by Claire and Marg that invited readers to share their library finds.  To link your Library Loot post visit this post.

My visit to the library brought me some real finds this week.  Books for challenges, books for sheer enjoyment.  Walking through the stacks brings real pleasure, spotting an interesting title, a familiar author or an attractive cover.  I always find something I wasn’t expecting.

The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters by Gordan Dahlquist for the Steampunk Challenge,  The Madonnas of Echo Park by Brando Skyhorse, a book I heard about on NPR, and  The Wisdom of Birds: A Illustrated History of Ornithology by Tim Birkhead.   I saw a lecture by Birkhead on TED and wanted to read his book.  If you haven’t discovered TED please visit the website.  They present some of the best speakers in the world on a full range of topics.


Lullabies for Little Criminals by Heather O’Neill for the
Canadian Book Challenge,  Things We Didn’t See Coming by Steven Amsterdam, stories of the future and Flight Volume V, an amazing series of comics and graphic stories collected by Kazu Kibuishi.  I think this is a great selection of books.

13 Comments

Filed under Events, LibraryLoot

13 responses to “LIbrary Loot – 10/6/2010 to 10/12/2010

  1. For me wandering the stacks adds to my tbr pile or library loot. Add that to the books I have on hold and I “relooot” too much for my taste. I need more time for reading if I wander the stacks too frequently!
    Great loot!

    • Linda – I often end up taking home too many books but it gives me a chance to look through them and see if I really want to read them!

  2. Lovely loot! Madonnas of Echo Park is so good! I hope you enjoy it and the Flight volume. Happy reading!

  3. I’ve never heard of any of these, but I LOVE the cover and title of Lullabies for Little Criminals!

  4. I enjoyed The Strain. It read a lot like a movie. I’ve heard less than thrilled reviews of The Fall so I have adjusted my expectations.

  5. I love the covers of some of these! I can’t say I’ve heard of any of them but there are a few that I’m going to check out now. Hope you enjoy!

  6. Great loot! I love the cover of the little criminals one and I really want to read Madonna of Echo Park

  7. I can’t wait to see what you think of The Glass Books of the Dream Eaters. I really liked it although it did differ from my expectations…

Leave a Reply

