Sunday Salon – Do You Read In Phases?

Happy All Hallow’s Eve!  Tonight is the night when the border between this world and the Otherworld is thinnest, the time when those of us living in the northern hemisphere enter the season of darkness, shorter days and longer nights.  Light a candle, hold good thoughts for those who have passed on, have fun and stay safe.

 

 


We are definitely into fall.  Cold and rainy one day, sunny, crisp and beautiful the next.  I went to the farm with some students on Wednesday and it was just glorious.  I am lucky being able to spend time at a place like this!  The air was so clean coming across the Sound we could see the Cascades, the Olympics and Mount Rainer very clearly.  Beautiful.

I’ve only managed to post seven reviews this month though I have read twice as many books.  I am not feeling pressured to review every thing I read and am only writing about those books that inspire me.  This has been just fine and I am not feeling stressed about writing at all.  I do wish I had more time to visit more blogs and leave more comments.

I have had a streak of reading  lots of novels and seem to be entering a phase of wanting to read nonfiction and, strangely for me, short stories.  Do you stick to one kind of book, read in a jumble or go through phases with your books?  Do books ever call to you unexpectedly, seemingly out of nowhere?

Today I hope to read more of The Wayfinders: Why Ancient Wisdom Matters in the Modern World by Wade Davis.  Published by a great Canadian press, House of Anasi,  the books is a collection of  Davis’  2009 Massey Lectures.  How about you?  What are you reading today?  To find out about Sunday Salon visit this link.

23 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

23 responses to “Sunday Salon – Do You Read In Phases?

  1. I love this: “I am not feeling pressured to review every thing I read and am only writing about those books that inspire me. ” My own SS post today is about making the exact same resolution :)

    I mostly read in a jumble, but I do occasionally get in the mood for some specific type of book. Enjoy your non-fiction and short story reading!

  2. I must admit that I too generally read in a jumble, but sometimes am drawn to say sci-fi or crime at particular times of the year.

    But you are so right to be relaxed about the whole thing!

    • Thanks for your comment! I often read in a jumble but suddenly find myself drawn to read nonfiction with sprinkles of fiction in between!

  3. Sometimes I read in phases, yes. Most of the time my reading list is fairly random. However, there are times when I read many books in one genre or on one topic.

  4. I wish it was feeling more like fall out here in Southern California. It was pouring yesterday morning then the afternoon was in the last 80s. I go through phases with my books. I just finished reading a middle-grade school book and before that was a graphic non-fiction book. Next will probably be a book in translation or self-help! Have a great week!

    • Sorry about your weather, when I lived in SoCal I really missed the seasons. You have a great week and good luck with your writing!

  5. Phases. I read in phases according to the season, strangely enough. On the one hand, it’s an irritating trait I have, but oddly comforting at the same time. I’ve tried to break the phase reading thing, but I don’t enjoy the books near as much as when I give into my inclinations.

    • Michele, it’s funny, the last couple of years I have read randomly and now I seem to be settling into reading one type of book for a while and then moving on to another. Thanks for commenting!

  6. I get urges to finish a challenge now and again, which can drive my phases. But otherwise I am totally unfocused…what I read is whatever grabs my attention at the moment!

    • Challenges will drive phases. I am considering not joining any next year but I said that last year and ended up with 10 or so! I have been letting go of books that don’t grab me and just going with the flow.

  7. We’ve had about five days of fall so far. Today the temp is already at 85. Eek. I dream of fall. I pray for fall.

  8. I’ve been sticking with translated literature since I started my blog, but I like to mix it up every now and then. I prefer fiction but will throw in a non-fic every once in awhile. But I definitely am a one-book-at-a-time person.

    • I would love to read for translated literature but I seem to start and then get side-tracked. I do read two or three books at a time.

  9. I need to keep things loose and free. Every time I try to “plan” my reading, I’ll find myself longingly looking at other books waiting on the shelves. Now that I’m almost done my “obligatory” reads for challenges (all self-imposed of course), I’m thinking of just reading whatever my little heart desires.

    • I have to agree with you, Jenner. With challenges after a while I feel obligated to read the theme or genre and pine for other books! I may give up on challenges next year (though I said that last year and ended up with at least ten:)

  10. I tend to go in genre phases. I’ll read a lot of fiction, then get into a memoir phase and read a bunch of those in a row. Or, I’ll be reading print books and then switch to audiobooks. I’ve never been able to figure out exactly what it is that triggers the switch!

  11. I love your phrase, about where the line between this world and the other is the thinnest. Wow, what an image…perfect for October 31. (I like the image in your header, too, which I meant to say earlier than today.)

  12. DanaB

    I read in crazy random phases and am currently in a magazine reading and short story phase. I am LOVING short stories and have been in this phase for quite some time now…it might be a ‘thing’ of mine…
    ~

Leave a Reply

