Library Loot 11/3 to 11/09

Library loot is brought to you by Claire at the Captive Reader and Marg at The Adventures of an Intrepid Reader.  Share your library finds and see others by visiting this link.

 

I think I mentioned that I have been craving nonfiction lately.  This is a rather eclectic of books that I picked up one Monday.

Where the Lightning Strikes: The Lives of American Indian Sacred Places by Peter Nabokov.  During the month of November, because of our Thanksgiving holiday,  I always try and spend time thinking about and honoring our nation’s indigenous peoples.  I have read several book by Nabokov including Native American Testimony and find them balanced and respectful.

The Wayfinders: Why Ancient Wisdom Matters in the Modern World by Wade Davis.  What does it mean to be human?  Wade Davis, and anthropologist and National Geographic Explorer-In-Residence taken a deep look at the knowledge and wisdom understood by indigenous cultures.

Fauna and Flora, Earth and Sky by Trudy Dittmar.  Essays that look at the connections between human nature and the natural world.

Wild Comfort: The Solace of Nature by Kathleen Dean Moore.  One of the presentors at are staff retreat mentioned Moore’s writing with high praise.  Then I remembered reading a review of this book at Caribousmom and had to pick it up.

And as for fiction I found:

Shadow Tag by Louise Erdrich.

The Sound of Waves by Yukio Mishima.

19 Comments

Filed under Library Loot

19 responses to “Library Loot 11/3 to 11/09

  1. Some very interesting books! I’ve enjoyed Erdrich’s short stories and have been wanting to read one of her novels. Will look forward to your thoughts on Shadow Tag.

  2. Oh yay for the Sound of Waves!!! I absolutely adore that book :D

  3. This is a great selection! Enjoy!

  4. Wild Comfort sounds really good. Enjoy your loot.

  5. I love the sound of your non-fiction pics. Especially Where Lightening Strikes and Wild Comfort. Enjoy!

    • I hope to write something about both Wild Comfort and Where Lightening Strikes when I read them. I hope school is going well for you.

  6. The American Indian sacred places book sounds really intriguing! Enjoy your loot!

  7. Marg

    I don’t read a lot of non-fiction.

    Enjoy your loot!

  8. I like how all the covers are very nature based. They look really nice together.

  9. When Lightening Strikes sounds interesting. I’ve travelled in the desert Southwest a lot and find it fascinating.

  10. Yes, there are areas in the Southwest that are just amazing. I would like to spend some more time there. Thanks for your comment!

  11. I liked Shadow Tag but a friend of mine whose parents went through a very long and contentious divorce found it too close to home for her.

    I also like the book on sacred spaces. I once hiked to the top of one of New Mexico’s sacred mountains and there is definitely a special feeling at the top.

    PB

Leave a Reply

