Sunday Salon – It’s been two years

A good Sunday to you all.  This week has brought weather that really feels like we are heading towards winter, rainy and cool with dark grey skies.  There have also been brief periods of sun, with light that is just glorious, the mountains to the west dusted with snow.  I feel blessed, living in such a beautiful place.

This week marks the second anniversary of Page247.  I have learned so much from all of you, about books, about reading and about kindness and friendship.  This community, at least the part I am familiar with,  is overflowing with respect for individual ideas and lifestyles.  It is capable of having deep, sometimes contentious, discussions without falling into the trap of  nasty comments and “flame wars”.  Bloggers are able to band together and push for change.  It is not about how much we all read or write, or about how many “followers” we have.  It is about sharing our love of reading and literacy in whatever way we have the time and energy for.  It is about visiting blogs and leaving comments whenever we can, even if it is just to say “Hi”.  Thank you all for being out there and putting your time and care into your blogs.  Thank you for sharing books with all of us. I am honored to be a part of it.

As for books and blogging this week, I have signed up for the Book Bloggers Holiday Swap.   If you are interested, today is the final day to join in.  Between house-cleaning and laundry I hope to have brief review of  The Sound of Waves finished by this evening.  I managed to snag a copy of Monsters of Men at the library yesterday.  I know if I start reading it I will not get anything else done so I will hold off as long as I can.  What are your reading plans for today?

27 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

27 responses to “Sunday Salon – It’s been two years

  1. Lovely thoughts for a Sunday morning. And thank you for being a part of all this too – always a smart and level and kind voice to rely upon.

  2. I love this very astute line (among many!) from your post: “It is not about how much we all read or write, or about how many “followers” we have. It is about sharing our love of reading and literacy in whatever way we have the time and energy for.” Sometimes, it’s easy to get sidetracked, and I’m glad for the refocusing which comes from like-minded women such as yourself. It’s a blessing to blog with you.

    • Thank you, Bellezza. It is easy to get sidetracked but I raelly try and remember why I started blogging in the first place. To share my love of books!

  3. Happy bloggy birthday! Couldn’t agree with you more about the general loveliness of the book blogging community. :D

  4. Happy second blogoversary! I also got Monsters of Men (finally!) but being basically OCD, I now feel I have to reread the first two before diving in. So that’s next on my agenda!

  5. Happy blogging anniversary, Gavin! Having you in our little (or not so little these days :P) community has been such a pleasure :)

  6. Congratulations on your second anniversary! Two years is a long time in the blogging world.

  7. Eva

    Happy blogiversary! And I love how you described the community: you put all of my feelings into such eloquent words. :D

  8. I started Monsters of Men a couple of weeks ago, fully prepared to be swept away as I was with the other two, and then, fifty pages in… I stopped. Just stopped. Not quite sure why. I look forward to seeing what you make of it!

  9. Oh happy blogiversary :D Has it only been two years??? Wow!! Love having you in my life through your blog! It always puts a smile on my face. Enjoy Monsters of Men!

  10. Happy Anniversary… and I very much agree with those sentiments! Love the photo of the mountains!

  11. Ti

    Congrats to you!! I’m so glad I’ve gotten to know you through blogging. Yes, it took Moby Dick to really bring us together but hey, at least the white whale was good for something! LOL.

  12. Has it really been two years?! Gavin, I am so glad that I know you. Your taste in books keep me reading outside of my comfort zone and wanting to know more. Have a great week!

  13. Okay, I’m a bit late, but happy blogoversary to you! :)

  14. Happy belated bloggiversary. I think you’ve put down why we all blog so nicely:) I’m planning to try some Mishima next year. And I’ve heard a lot about Monsters of Men but haven’t tried it yet.

Leave a Reply

