Sunday Salon – Snow and Sun


Happy Sunday to you.  I hope everyone who celebrates Thanksgiving had a wonderful holiday.  We had three days of snow and cold, a couple of “snow days”  off from school and a wonderful vegetarian Thanksgiving meal with my sister and brother-in-law.  Today the sun is out and I just took a long walk.  The sky is filled with light and clouds and the air holds a hint of warmth.  Lovely!

I finished three fine books this week but haven’t managed to review any of them.  I plan to, just haven’t found the right words.  I visited the library and brought home some great finds and have also made myself a promise that I will read one book from my own TBR pile along with my library books.  So later today I will be reading Philip Pullman along with Charles Yu.  What about you?  What are your reading plans for this Sunday or for this week?

21 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

21 responses to “Sunday Salon – Snow and Sun

  1. I took a nice long walk this afternoon, too – very brisk and windy, but a nice day. Started reading Freedom by Jonathan Franzen this weekend and have high hopes, especially since I loved The Corrections.

  2. Ti

    Hope you had a nice Thanksgiving! Sounds like you did. I am so tired of eating :)

  3. I just finished Science Fictional Universe this week. Good, I thought. And not just for those who think Science Fictional-ly.

  4. The only reading plans I have for today is to read research articles. I’m hoping to finish every book I’m in the middle of (3-4) this week. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on the Pullman book. Happy reading and have a great week.

  5. I’m about to call it quits on the computer and read more of The Lotus Eaters. After imbibing. We’ll see how that goes…

  6. Ah, snow….that sounds oh so wonderful :) Enjoy the Pullman! I read it awhile ago and thoroughly enjoyed it!

    • Snow is great, as long as we don’t have to drive. People do not know how to drive on snow in this city and there are many, many steep hills! By the way, your flowers are lovely.

  7. Eva

    Enjoy! I haven’t read either of those. :)

  8. I’ve thought about that particular Pullman book too.. i’ll be interested to hear your review …
    at the moment I am reading a little book called The Cowboy and His Elephant. (not my usual read but quite good so far)

  9. A vegetarian Thanksgiving meal sounds yummy! I’m not a big fan of turkey.

    Glad you had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  10. I am interested in both your reviews. Pullman is such an interesting person and the science fiction one sounds good as well.

    • I enjoyed Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy and have loved all the Canongate Myth Series books I’ve read so I am really looking forward to The Good Man Jesus.

Leave a Reply

