Sunday Salon – It’s December Already

Happy Sunday to all.  I’m finding it very hard to believe that it is December already.  Am I the only one?

The week was a busy one with the start of a Holiday project for the children and letter writing to new pen-friends in a town in Uganda.  Everyone is very excited about both projects.  The adults in our classrooms try very hard to keep things quiet and calm this time of year. The children are excited about the coming holidays and most places they go out in the world bombard them with toys and lights and all the commercial aspects of the season.

We had a community meeting on Thursday.  During this kind of meeting an object is passed around the circle and only the person holding that object is allowed to speak. They may choose to pass.  Of course, this includes the adults and we often trip up by blurting out a comment or question and it can be quite funny having the children glare at us for our mistakes.   Tracy, one of my lovely co-teachers, suggested we all come up with an idea for a gift for someone, something wasn’t bought, made at home or able to be wrapped up as a present.  I forget what her first suggestion was, maybe it was patience.  The ideas generated during that meeting were astounding.  Here is a partial list.

Friendship, listening, respect, attention, time, acceptance, compassion, perseverance, forgiveness, peace, love, humor, joy, happiness.  It was an amazing experience and I am honored to work in such an open, respectful environment with these wonderful children.

As for books and reading.  I finished two reading books and am working on reviews,  got reviews written for The Colour and The Tiger, and started reading The Hare with Amber Eyes.  I am coming up with my list of favorite books for 2010 and am trying to decide about challenges and readalongs.  I also used a gift coupon to buy several used books for the Unstructured Book Group.

These books arrived in the mail this week.  The Bread Givers by Anzia Yezierska and Our Horses in Egypt by Rosalind Belben.

Along with laundry and house cleaning I hope to read this afternoon.  What about you?  How are you planning on spending this first Sunday in December?

Sunday Salon is a place for readers to share their thoughts about books and other things.  To find out more follow this link.

10 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

10 responses to “Sunday Salon – It’s December Already

  1. I finally finished a novel today after SO LONG!

    I wrote a review of it on my Sunday Salon post!

  2. You are certainly not the only one, no!

    I love that list – that definitely does sound like an amazing experience :)

    • The meeting was amazing, and now the children will create symbols representing their ideas and paint them onto small Tibetan prayer flags to give as holiday gifts! The year has gone by very quickly. I’m glad you’ve settled in and are blogging again. Have a great week.

  3. Sometimes it just feels like life is whizzing by and I can’t make it slow down! Makes me tired thinking about it. Or maybe I’m just tired from a late night last night. Either way, I hope maybe I can be lazy today and read, but what are the odds that my family will let me? I only have 25 pages left of The Lotus Eaters, then I have a stack of graphic novels (that Color of Earth series) that I’d really like to dig into!

    • Sandy – I try very hard, at this time of year, not to get swept up in holiday stress and craziness. Enjoy your graphic novels!

  4. This year is going by so fast. I hope next year is better. How’s The Hare with Amber Eyes? I just checked it out from the library. I plan on spending today (or the rest of today) writing. Have a great week!

    • The Hare with Amber Eyes is wonderful! I have to finish up my library books and suspend my library holds as I am joining James’ TBR Dare for the month of January! Good luck with the writing.

  5. Ti

    The year is zooming by at an alarming pace. I really look forward to this time of year but I wish we could do away with the commercial aspect of this holiday. Each year, I try to do something special for my kids…create a memory (if you will) to replace a storebought item. I’ve found for the past three years, that the “memory” we create is the one they talk about year after year.. not what they received the year before. Pretty soon, I hope to do away with the gifts alltogether. Might take awhile, but seeing a play with your family or taking kids with Down Syndrome on a Christmas Light tour is just so much more rewarding, for all of us.

  6. Wow – a lovely lovely list of gifts. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

