My Favorite Books of 2010


The year has flown by and there have been some unforgettable books along the way.  Fiction and nonfiction, young adult books and picture books, a great wild mix of things.  Here are my favorites, along with links to my reviews.

Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel.  The 2009 winner of the Man Booker prize.  This is a fictionalized biography of Thomas Cromwell,  his rise to prominence in the court of Henry the Eight and my introduction to Hilary Mantel.  I went on to read A Place of Greater Safety, also a favorite for 2010.

The Negro Speaks of the River By Langston Hughes, Illustrated by E.B. Lewis.  A beautifully illustrated poem.

The World More Full Of Weeping by Robert J. Wiersema.  A novella that’s a fantasy, more a ghost story, chilling and very evocative.

The Rock and The River by Kekla Magoon.  A young adult novel about two brothers during the civil rights struggles in the 1960’s.

The Golden Mean by Annabel Lyon.  A novel that has the philosopher Aristotle as its central character.  I loved Lyon’s creativity and willingness to take risks with this book.

The City & The City by China Mieville.  A science fiction/ police procedural/mystery/thriller unlike anything I’ve ever read.  I am in awe of China Mieville’s intelligence.

The Thousand Autumns of  Jacob De Zoet by David Mitchell.  A beautiful, historical mystery.

The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver.  A novel that weaves together history, politics and culture.  I think I will reread The Poisonwood Bible in 2011.

Kings of the Earth by Jon Clinch.  A book made up of many voices, each clear and distinct.  I think Clinch is a consummate American novelist.

Room by Emma Donoghue.  So many have read this book and been marked by it, there is little I can add.

Safe from the Sea by Peter Geye.  A first novel about family, memory and how we change and grow.  I look forward to more from this author.

The Tiger by John Vaillant.  On the trail of a Siberian tiger that has turned into a killer, Vaillant covers natural history, regional history and introduces the reader to the people that live in the remote area of eastern Russia.

Corrag by Susan Fletcher.  A novel based on the massacre at Glencoe, Scotland that took place in 1692, wonderfully written.

The Hare with Amber Eyes by Edmund de Waal.  De Waal, having inherited a collection of small Japanese objects decides to uncover their history.

This is an odd, eclectic assortment.  That is how I read and that is what I love.

Happy New Year everyone!

19 Comments

Filed under Favorites, Review

19 responses to “My Favorite Books of 2010

  1. Can you believe that the only book I’ve read on your list is The Negro Speaks of River. That was one of the best books I’ve read last year. I hope next year is just as great as this year has been.

    • Thanks, Vasilly. Oh, read The Rock and the River when you get a chance. Are you planning a Toni Morrison read-along for spring?

  2. I think you’re one of the bloggers whose taste is the most similar to mine, and so I can’t believe I haven’t read a single one of these! I must change that asap.

    • I think we do have similar tastes:) You have several book on your” favorites” that I need to read. I Kill Giants being on top of my choices and also Hilary McKay. I hope school is going well for you!

  3. I can’t wait to read a few on your list. I read Lacuna and loved it. It was part of a Blog Tour, so I’m glad I agreed to participate. Like you, my tastes are eclectic in scope and so will my 2010 best list. Happy New Year! Thanks for your wrap up.

  4. The Tiger seems to be on a lot of people’s Best Of lists, as a nice one that came through near the end of the year! I’ll have to look for that one. I also REALLY want to read China Mievelle next year. One of my big goals :-)

  5. Safe from the Sea is going to be my next read, so I’m glad to see ti on your list!

    Happy New Year!

    • I can’t wait to read what you think of Safe from the Sea and all the other Lit Fiction top 5s. Happy New Year to you, Jill!

  6. Literary Feline

    Of your favorites, the only one I’ve read is the Room. I really hope to get to Wolf Hall, Safe From the Sea and The City & The City one of these days. They sound so good! I hope you have a wonderful New Year!

  7. Yay to Safe From the Sea and The Tiger :) I enjoyed both. Happy New Year and all the best in 2011 to you.

  8. Happy New Year to you, Amy! Hears to great reading.

  9. the Rock and the River was so so so so good!

  10. Loved The City & The City and China Mieville is indeed an amazing writer! I’ve seen The Golden Mean at the library and am intending to borrow it on my next visit there.

  11. You’re the only other person I’ve seen who read The World More Full Of Weeping this year. My review of it is going up next week. It was such a powerful little book!

Leave a Reply

