Sunday Salon – Slightly distracted…

A good Sunday to you!  It has been a very odd week around here, with weather that is just plain weird.  Monday morning the temperature dropped suddenly and we has serious snow for about two hours.  Then it stayed cold for a bit and then suddenly the snow was gone.  It snowed Tuesday night, just beautiful, about four inches and then warmed up to rain and it was wet and miserable and the snow disappeared.  There are flood warnings and the ski slopes had to close because of avalanche warnings.  Bizarre for January!

The dark days and strange weather must be effecting my ability to concentrate.  I keep jumping from one book to another, unable to focus on or finish any of them.  Maybe it has to do with reading War and Peace in small bits.  I have managed to finish two mysteries from my TBR pile and am half way through Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand and Who Has Seen the Wind but am just too scattered to sit down and finish them!

I had a thought.  There is a book that has been on my TBR list since I first heard about it and has been in the house since the holidays.  It wasn’t on my initial list for books to read for the TBR dare but I keep being drawn to it.  How about this?  What do you think?

I think I’ll just put the others on hold and dive in.  How about you?  Are you planning on reading today?

20 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

20 responses to “Sunday Salon – Slightly distracted…

  1. Yes! Bad boy antics and quasi-redemption is exactly what you need right now! I am a little envious. Really want to read this too. Have heard such good things. And besides, Keith is quite the reader himself. It would not be that far afield. :)

  2. Oh, I SO vote that you read that book. I want to read that book. Since I am on The Dare, I’m hoping that it is out on audio. I’ve been distracted as well. Too much crap going on.

  3. Celebrity biographies can be just the thing you need sometimes. I’ve a fondness for biographies about artists myself. I may go out and buy a new one when the TBR Dare is over.

    I’m reading Hunger by Knut Hamsan today and maybe The World Below by Sue Miller.

    • I’m not into celeb biographies at all but this one sounds like too much fun to miss. Besides, I am amazed that Richards is still alive after what he put his body through!

  4. Dark days and crazy weather certainly influence my ability to concentrate, too. I finished Major Pettigrew last week… my book club is discussing it on Friday. Have a great week.

  5. I’m reading Pat Conroy’s newest, a collection of essays, and a little War and Peace (completely baffled about who the characters are after avoiding this book for a week) and Devil in the White City. Totally disjointed today. And I can’t even blame it on the weather, though it is miserably cold and drab.

    • Yeah, Deb, if I put War and Peace down for more then a day I lose track of who is who but I am really enjoying it. I seemed to regain some focus on Sunday evening and actually finished a book!

  6. Happy Sunday! I was initially planning to read today, but instead I ended up going around exploring Brooklyn and getting myself very, very lost in Bedford-Stuyvesant (not the nicest neighborhood). Nice day, but I am very ready to curl up with a book now and enjoy the holiday tomorrow.

  7. I had no desire to read Life, but then I saw that the audio book is narrated by Johnny Depp. I might cave at some point, because that just seems too perfect.

  8. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on Life. I’m hoping to re-read Yummy by G. Neri. I read it last week and found it to be so powerful. I also have Major Pettigrew on my reading list for this week. Happy reading!

  9. Ti

    The title of this post caught my eye. Distracted? Yep, I can relate. I find that I am either highly focused or severely distracted and that there is no in between.

    I was on a reading binge trying to get through all of the books for the Indie Lit Fiction shortlist (which I did) and now I am moving on to The Sweet Relief of Missing Children which I am reading for Library Thing’s Early Reviewers.

    I am swamped by ARCs at the moment and trying to catch up. Will I do it? Only time will tell.

    • I’m not so distracted now, I actually managed to finish two books yesterday! I can’t wait to hear the results of the Indie Lit Fiction award. I’ve given up on ARC’s completely, ended up feeling way too quilty if I didn’t read and review them right away! Have a great week, Ti.

  10. Life looks good not huge stones fan thou ,but can imagine they’d be some rich tales to be told ,all the best stu

Leave a Reply

