Sunday Salon – Sickish

A good Sunday to all!  It has been a busy week, staff meetings, parent education evenings,  the hatching of our classroom salmon eggs.  I felt overwhelmed.  Come Friday afternoon it dawned on me that I was fighting off getting sick, and now my cold has caught up with me. So Saturday was spent mostly sleeping and today will be a quiet one.  Reading, watching videos, making a big pot of pasta.

No football.

I may fall off the TBR Dare wagon this week.  I promised myself I would only read library books for the Sci-Fi Experience but I may not be able to keep my hands off this.  I have been waiting anxiously since reading St Lucy’s Home For Girls Raised By Wolves for Karen Russell’s second book.  This is the first 2011 release that I am giddy over.  What about you?  What books are you waiting breathlessly for?  Don’t you just love these covers?

19 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

19 responses to “Sunday Salon – Sickish

  1. People are starting to fall of the TBR wagon now that a month has gone by. Please feel free to do so, if you like. It’s all for fun.

    I did enjoy St. Lucy’s School for Girls Raised by Wolves. I’ll be interested to see what you have to say about Swamplandia. And I should hope over and check out the SciFi Experience. I have several on my TBR shelf.

    • I will make an exception for the new Karen Russell book but hope to stick with my own books through February and maybe through March! Thanks so much for this brilliant dare, I am going to try and be reading at least one of my own books throughout the year. I hope we can do the TBR dare again next year.

  2. I haven’t read St. Lucy’s Home for Girls. If you loved it, I know I will. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on Swamplandia. I was giddy for Jo Walton’s Among Others after reading such great reviews of it. So now I’m reading it and I’m happy that I am.

    Feel better soon.

    • I added “Among Others” to my TBR library list after seeing it on your blog. “St. Lucy’s” is bizarrely strange and funny and I really like Russell’s style, but it may not be for everybody!

  3. Really, really love the cover of Swamplandia and considered buying it just for that reason before I even knew what it was about. Soon. Enjoy that coveted read and congrats on spending a solid month diminishing the size of that tbr pile. I am really excited about the new Flavia de Luce installment. That might knock me out of the dare as I was sent a copy and now am contemplating having my children hide it from me. Sad, I know. Feel better!

    • I haven’t gotten around to reading Bradley yet but I have “Sweetness” on my library list. I bet your children could find a really good hiding place!

      I love the covers on the John Fowles reissues. I should reread his novels!

  4. Just love the Swamplandia cover, though I’m not familiar with either of the books. Hope you manage to fight off the flu – stay healthy and have a great week!

    • Thanks, JoAnn. I managed to fight off getting really sick and feel better today. I hope you got out from under all that snow!

  5. Hope you feel better soon ,I ve had busy week at work hence not many post ,all the best stu

    • Thanks, Stu. I read more War and Peace yesterday and hope to post about Volume 1 soon. I am feeling better! Have a great week.

  6. Oh, I want Swamplandia SO BAD! And I will buy it on my Kindle soon. But don’t cave! Just buy it and wait. April 1st will be here before you know it. Stay strong! There are ten billion other great books out there sitting right on your shelf. Hope you get better. The crud has claimed every one of my family members a victim over the last few weeks.

    • I’ve got “Swamplandia” on hold at the library and it should come in any day now. I am going to have to read it, just can’t help myself, but it will be along with the many books off my own TBR piles.

  7. Hope you feel better soon!

    I am looking forward to a bunch of books this year, but thankfully it will be a bit longer before they come in so I can catch-up on a few things.

  8. Ti

    My house has been battling various illnesses for a week now. Not fun.

    I want to read Swamplandia just because it sounds so out there.

  9. BibliophileBytheSea

    Both of these covers are awesome. I am looking forward to both.

  10. Sorry you’re feeling crappy! Lots of orange juice?

  11. I’ve had my eye on Swamplandia too! But I didn’t know about her first book. It looks as though a lot of people have enjoyed it so I may check it out first:) Hope you have recovered.

Leave a Reply

