Sunday Salon – What are you reading?

A good Sunday to you.  I hope you all had a great week in your lives and with your reading.  This week was more settled for me.  I got over my cold quickly, have been getting more sleep and am slowing overcoming my mild reading slump.

Except for two library books finished for Carl V’s science fiction event I have managed to stick with the TBR Dare.  There are a couple of books that have arrived at my local library branch that may change that but I am going to hold out as long as I can.

Making my way through the Keith Richards’ autobiography in small chunks.  It is a wonderful read but, for me, a bit over the top to take in all at once.  I finished a mystery for the Canadian Book Challenge 4 and have started  Our Horses in Egypt for The Wolves unstructured book discussion.

There are a couple War and Peace read-alongs happening right now.  I’ve finished volume 1 and have started writing about my experience.  Hope to have that posted by mid-week.  Today will be a quiet day, laundry, reading and possibly some baking.  What does Sunday look like around your house?  How about your reading plans for the week?

12 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

12 responses to “Sunday Salon – What are you reading?

  1. I’m so glad you are feeling better…being sick sucks. No time for it. What does our Sunday look like? Church, then a football game, then MAYBE a movie if there is time, then Sandy’s Sunday Dinner, which usually consists of some kind of fish. And does Amazing Race start tonight? I don’t remember.

  2. Coveting your Keith Richards bio. He is about over the top but he does it so distinctively and with such humor. And many thanks for joining us Wolves again. I need to get started on that book too. Happy reading!

    • The Richards bio is great fun, just a lot to take in all at once! I am enjoying the Belben and am curious as to how you all chose the books for the Wolves list.

  3. Glad you got better so quickly! We have tickets to the opera this afternoon, but I hope to finish The Easter Parade by Richard Yates, too. I’m loving that book.

  4. Glad you are healed! I think I’m fighting off a small cold myself, but I have taken early preventive measures and hopefully warded it off by propping up my pillows and gargling high-alcohol-content mouthwash to kill germs in my throat. :p

    • Pillows and mouthwash? How about a hot toddy? I thinking sleeping for most of last weekend it what finally knocked out my bug.

  5. I never have reading plans for the week, except to make sure I have a book with me when I leave for work in the morning (usually whatever I’m reading at the time). I try to read two books a week, and sometimes do well, sometimes not. I was supposed to read a SF short story with a friend today (she is in Texas so we compare ideas online) but a crisis over Valentines for tomorrow at school interferred :-) Sundays tend to be at home days, so we can all face going out of the house for the week. Housework, reading if I can, spending time with the family, trying to catch up on my blog and all of you! and usually catching up with friends too.

    I’m glad you’re feeling better, Gavin! Have a good week!

    • Thanks, Susan. Sunday is usually a stay at home day for us, too. It grounds me for the rest of the week! What SF short story are you and your friend reading?

  6. Glad to hear you’re feeling better. Congrats on the TBR Dare! You’re doing so well. I’ve signed up for the challenge but I’ve been holding off starting it. I think it’s time though! :-) Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

