Cutting for Stone – Abraham Verghese

Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese

Vintage Books, New York, 2009

I own this one, another book read for the TBR Dare.  Winner of the 2010 Indies Choice Book Award.

A book that I waited too long to read.   I am glad I finally got around to it.

Cutting for Stone is the story of twins Marion and Shiva, sons of a secret union between a British surgeon and an Indian nun.  Born at the “Missing Hospital” in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, the twins are orphaned when their mother dies giving birth to them and their father disappears.  They are left in the care of the two doctors left at “Missing”, Dr. Kalpana Hemlatha and Dr. Abhi Ghosh and raised on the grounds of the hospital and among the people of  the neighborhood.

Over time Hema and Ghosh, Marion and Shiva form a family that grows to include the people around them.  This novel is just as much about what a family can be, about what it can mean, as it is about Marion and Shiva and the mystery of their birth parents.  It is also about other things, about surgery and medicine, about the history of Ethiopia and Eritrea, about being forced to leave your homeland.  It is dense, layered and beautifully written.  I devoured it so quickly I forgot to mark passages to quote and now find it difficult to choose any. It will be one of my favorite books of the year.

I have read articles and reviews by Abraham Verghese and thoroughly enjoyed them.  I have added his book My Own Country to my TBR list.

Other reviews:

Caribousmom

Farm Lane Books

Fizzy Thoughts

S. Krishna’s Books

The Literate Housewife

9 Comments

Filed under ContemporaryFiction, Historical Fiction, Review

9 responses to “Cutting for Stone – Abraham Verghese

  1. Yeat another book on my tbr!

  2. I’ve not seen a bad review of this book, and has been very high on my list. Despite all the descriptions of the plot though, it is hard to get a full grasp. I just need to trust and read.

  3. Ti

    My book club is reading this this year. Finally!! I’ve been wanting to read it but I haven’t been in the mood to do so, not on my own anyway. It’s scheduled to be read in August and I downloaded it to my Kindle when it was on sale for $5. I can’t wait!

  4. It was one of my favourite reads last year -such a good plot and so emotional. Glad to see that you enjoyed it too.

  5. This sounds like an excellent book. Great review!

  6. This sounds very, very good, I need to put it on the wish list.

  7. Eva

    For some reason, I’ve been resistant to this one. But if it’s going to be one of your favourites of the year, I need to get over that!

  8. SO glad you loved this one – it is definitely one of those books which stick with you (and made my best of the year too). Thanks for the link love, my friend :)

  9. Pingback: Sunday Salon – Late Again | Page247

Leave a Reply

