Sunday Salon –

A good Sunday to you!  I hope, where ever you are in the northern hemisphere, that the weather has turned and that you are enjoying a bit of spring.  Or that there is spring somewhere in your future.  We’ve had rain and more rain.  The sun peeked out yesterday for a bit and the forecast for today is “partly sunny”.  Whatever happens I will be out in the yard for part of the day, digging in compost and planting starts.  It is past time to get things into the ground!

It was a busy week at school with parent conferences and a day trip to an art museum.  Next week we will be releasing our salmon.  It is the tenth year we’ve raised salmon in the classroom and it is a wonderful experience for all of us.

The TBR Dare is officially over and I am proud of myself.  With two exceptions for a challenge and two library books that I just had to read,  I made it through three months reading books off my own TBR pile.  I intend to keep reading my own books even as I renew my love affair with my local library.  I continue to read War and Peace and have started Fire and Hemlock for the Once Upon A Time challenge.

It saddened me to learn of the death of Diana Wynne Jones, an author whose work I was introduced to just last year.   There have been some wonderful posts about Wynne Jones and her contributions to fantasy including this and this by two of my favorite authors.  After I finish Fire and Hemlock I plan on reading more of her books for OUAT V.

I have also started reading Agaat, a fascinating novel that takes place in South Africa, translated into English from Afrikaans.   How about you?  What are you up to today.  What are you reading?

15 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

15 responses to “Sunday Salon –

  1. I am reading Affinity, by Sarah Waters and finding it a bit slow. We had beautiful spring weather on Thursday and Friday, but now the gloom is back. Oh well…a good day for reading! Enjoy your time in the garden!

  2. We haven’t had spring yet just summer and winter! :-) I am so glad it’s cold after burning up the past few days. Right now I’m reading Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston. It’s such a great read.

    You are so right about the TBR Dare. It reminded me of all the great books that I have on my shelves. I plan on reading more off of my shelves this year.

    Have a great Sunday!

    • If I remember there isn’t much of a spring in SoCal, winter just jumps into summer. The TBR dare has had a great effect on my reading, I love it. I have great books lying around that I haven’t read. Have a wonderful week!

  3. Oh, Fire & Hemlock was my first Diana Wynne Jones book and remains one of my favourite books of all time! I am so glad you are reading it. I plan to read some from her in the next few months, so I am excited.

  4. I’m considering rereading Fire and Hemlock too. The only thing is that I’m not sure I’m in exactly the right mood for it. I never want to read it because I feel like I should (like now because Diana Wynne Jones just died). I want to always read it because I’m craving it.

  5. Like you, I really enjoyed the TBR Dare, and want to continue as much as possible. I have found that books age like wine and cheese…the longer they sit on my shelves, the better they are!

    • Yes! I think I enjoy reading books like Cutting For Stone much more after all the hoopla has died down. Less pressure, you know?

  6. I finally finished Wolf Hall and started a biography of Richard Yates. It’s fascinating so far! The tbr dare was a huge success – I’m going to try and keep reading as much as I can from my shelves.

    • I can’t wait to read what you think of Wolf Hall! I will continue to happily read books from my shelves, at least one with my library books.

  7. How fun to raise and release Salmon. Unfortunately we still have wind, rain and cold out here but the crocus are nudging up and the vegetables are starting in the basement.

  8. Eva

    I’ve quite new to DWJ too, and all of these tribute posts have made me crave more of her. I’m actually off to the library to pick up Fire & Hemlock, which will be a reread for me, and I’m impatiently waiting for my hold on The Time of the Ghost to arrive.

Leave a Reply

