Sunday Salon – May Day!

Good Sunday to you and a joyous May DayAll of you living in the southeastern US please know that those of us in the Pacific Northwest are thinking of you and sending you good thoughts.

This week starts the run up to the end of the school year, testing, trips and planning for camp.  It is a time to keep calm and remember to breath..

April was a slow reading month for me, I spent many hours with Agaat, others catching up on War and Peace and also read two chunky science fiction novels.   Now I am reading Who Fears Death for Once Upon A Time V and am excited to start The Last Crossing for the Hop-A-Long, Get-A-Long, Read-A-Long Challenge.

Last night Mr G and I indulged in take-out Thai food and a video I picked up at the library.  We both have a soft spot for lonely,  overly introspective homicide detectives from Europe and the UK.  If you have a place in your heart for such characters please check out the Masterpiece Mystery series Wallander, based on the novels by Henning Mankell.    Kenneth Branagh plays Wallander and is, well, Kenneth Branagh.  The series was shot in Ystad, Sweden, where the novels take place.  Dark, dreary and stunningly beautiful.  The only thing that is a bit off  is hearing British accents from Swedish characters, but for me the acting and atmosphere more than made up for it.  Mankell claims he has written the last book in the series, The Troubled Man.  I have it on hold at the library.

Have a wonderful week!

8 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

8 responses to “Sunday Salon – May Day!

  1. Love your Maypole! Makes me think of gorgeous spring weather.

    The mystery series sounds good…thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  2. Happy May Day! I’ve just placed Agaat to my holds list at the library. Thai food and a movie sounds like a great way to spend a night. Have a great week and happy reading!

    • I really want to know what you think of Agaat when you get around to reading it. I found it difficult at times, but just brilliant.

  3. Hi Gavin – What a lovely po0st for May Day – things you do for pleasure. I have read most of the Wallender series, so have tried to stay away from the Branagh version because he was too handsome to be Wallander, and not gloomy enough. that being said, I’ve heard it’s a good series, and most people seem to enjoy it. It’s probably me because I see Branagh as Henry the Vth, always…..mmmm to Thai Food. have a good week, too!

    • Thanks, Susan. I know, I see Branagh as Henry, too but he does an amazing job as Wallander. He actually approached Mankell and asked him if he could play the part. It is also astonishing how well the production conveys the feeling and atmosphere of each novel, not that I’m pushing you to watch them!

  4. Ti

    First off, I love Thai food but no one I know does so I never get to eat any.
    I am going to have to check out that Wallander series. I love everything Scandinavian these days. Haven’t read the books yet but I am loving Nesbo right now.

    • Oh, Ti, that’s sad. You should treat yourself to some Thai food when you get a chance. I actually started my Scandinavian reading with the Wallander series several years ago but also love Nesbo and Arnaldur Indridason (from Iceland).

Leave a Reply

