Japanese Literature Challenge 5!

Last year a wonderful blogger introduced me to Japanese Literature and helped me open a door to a new world.  Thanks to Dolce Bellezza, it is time for the Japanese Literature Challenge 5.

Between June 1, 2011 and January 30, 2012 all you need to do is read one book, of course you can read as many as you like.  If you are not sure where to start our challenge hostess has compiled a suggested reading list.

I plan to start with Banana Yoshimoto’s newest novel, The Lake.

10 Comments

Filed under Challenges2011, Events

10 responses to “Japanese Literature Challenge 5!

  1. I’m so excited you’re joining in again, Gavin! I plan to read The Lake, as well, along with quite a few others. I’m looking forward to discussing Yoshimoto’s newest book as many people are planning on reading and reviewing it. Think of all that’s in store for us! Yippee!

  2. I’m doing this challenge again too and hope to get The Lake from my library when it comes in . I’ve just posted about the challenge, and looking to see what people are going to read. I’ll probably get hold of Kenzaburo Oe’s latest book, The Changeling first. I look forward to hearing about The Lake and others you may read. Enjoy the challenge.

  3. I’d love to read The Lake as well. I’ve heard so many wonderful things about it…

    Reckon I’ll start with Murakami – Ryu Murakami, that is. Reading a Haruki or two wouldn’t be totally out of the question…

    Enjoy!

  4. great see you join in I hope to as well ,all the best stu

  5. Not read any Yoshimoto, but have Kitchen waiting for my attention & am hearing great things concerning this particular one.

Leave a Reply

