Sunday Salon – A Busy Weekend

A good Sunday to you.  It has been a lovely first week of summer break.  I got into the garden, did some pruning and weeding and have started harvesting our strawberries.  Our cool spring weather has them tasting as sweet as candy.

On Friday Mr G and I went to see Terrence Malick’s “The Tree of Life” and I am still taking it in.    It is a stunningly beautiful, slow moving and very spiritual film.  The only thing I can compare it to is Stanley Kubrick’s “2001: A Space Odyssey“.  I believe lots of others are making the same comparison.

And to top this weekend off we have a very special date planned for this evening.  We are going to see this author read from the new edition of this book.  I know, silly making you click through like that.  Have a wonderful week and happy reading!

18 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

18 responses to “Sunday Salon – A Busy Weekend

  1. I’ve seen Gaiman speak before and he’s fantastic. He’s funny and he has a wonderful speaking voice. Enjoy!

  2. Sounds like a great weekend…I am planning to see The Tree of Life today…I’ve heard mixed things about it. Glad you enjoyed it.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST

  3. I’ve become interested in seeing Tree of Life myself. We almost never go to the movies anymore. They’ve become one superhero after another. Terrance Malik is usually the opposite of a superhero movie.

    • The Tree of Life is one of those films you have to see on the big screen. Different images keep popping into my head. And, I agree, we rarely go out to movies anymore.

  4. I really want to see Tree of Life, but I’m thinking the kids wouldn’t appreciate it. And if they kids can’t go, I can’t go. I may have to wait for Netflix. And Gaiman! You lucky dog! Make sure you take pictures!

    • If you want to see The Tree of Life you should treat yourself and go out to the theater. It needs to be seen on a big screen. Gaiman was amazing. If you every get a chance to see him read, go!

  5. That sure is a busy weekend. Gaiman is on my list of “must-read” authors Didn’t know the film Tree of Life yet, but I think I have to go and see it.

    • Jenny, Neal Gaiman was amazing. He’s definitely magical. See The Tree of Life in a theater if you can. It needs a big screen.

  6. Enjoy your time with—I won’t spoil things by revealing the author’s name—the Mysterious Author.

    Here’s my Sunday Salon: Une Petite Visite à Paris. (And don’t worry….it’s in English. I just like to pretend to speak French.)

    • Pretending to speak French is wonderful. I pretend to speak Italian:) The mysterious author was a marvel, I would see him read again in a heartbeat. Ciao!

  7. Have fun seeing Gaiman read American Gods! :-)

  8. OMG YOU’RE GOING TO SEE GAIMAN!!!!! You are so damn lucky!!! I met him once at an Amanda Palmer concert and he was lovely :D Have a great time!! I know you will :D If I would’ve caught this earlier, I would’ve told you to tell him hi for me :) I saw that he was at the Seattle Pride Festival earlier! And I didn’t know Tree of Life was out either!! I’ve been wanting to see it ever since I saw the trailer seemingly ages ago!

    • Oh, Chris, Gaiman was just amazing. He is funny, brilliant and magical, but you know that already. Seattle Pride was a massive party and we had great weather for it. See The Tree of Life in the theater, it demands a big screen:)

  9. Neil Gaiman! Oh lucky you, enjoy!!! He’s not coming to Canada on this tour. i’m debating getting the 10th anniversary of American Gods, since it is his preferred edition.

    You’re on holidays already! We have 4 days to go……i love the sound of your strawberries in your garden, too. It’s been so wet here, and hot, that we don’t have the strawberries we normally do. I miss them!

    Have a good week, Gavin!

    • Neal told the story of the original edition of American Gods. He had to cut bits for the publisher so now all the bits are back in! It was amazing, seeing him read in person. I would go again in a heartbeat.

      The strawberries are wonderful, as long as we get to them before the mad squirrels do! I so glad you are feeling better, it’s great to have you back.

Leave a Reply

