Under the Midnight Sun

I decided to join in on this read-a-thon, even though I knew I would only be able to read in short bursts.  I have lots of things going on this 4th of July weekend, including being on the beach for low-tide Sunday and possibly Monday.

I am about 4o pages into my first Canadian Book Challenge book, Under This Unbroken Sky by Shandi Mitchell.  It is a historical novel about Ukrainian immigrants who run from Stalin’s butchery to the plains of Alberta.  I will update this post later on today.

8 Comments

Filed under Events, Read-a-thon

8 responses to “Under the Midnight Sun

  1. Em

    Never heard about it, but I’ve read a couple of short stories about Ukrainian immigrants to the Prairies. I look forward to reading what you have to sy about the book…

  2. Being from the East coast, I had no idea how many people of Ukrainian descent were in the Canadian prairies until I moved west (well, Northwest, technically). Even here in Yellowknife there are Ukrainian dancers. And now I want perogies.

  3. Lots of Ukrainians in St. Catharines, Ontari where I came from including parts of my family. I’ll be looking forward to your comments on this book.

    Glad you’re able to join in even if it’s only a few pages here and there. Better than none at all.

  4. Mmmm, perogies. Think I may have some lurking in the freezer (I am Ukrainian, after all!) I read this book a while ago and didn’t find that I loved it as much as I expected to. I will be very interested to hear your take on it!

  5. Em

    I hope your reading is progressing andthe heart is still in it…
    Will be back in the morning for more cheering!

  6. I remember reading Melwyk’s review of this one and wanting to read it, thanks for the reminder.

  7. Jen

    Sounds like a great book. I’m an Alberta girl (though not of Ukranian descent!) myself, now getting homesick for perogies!

  8. Good luck on your read-a-thon, Gavin! Have a great weekend.

Leave a Reply

