Sunday Salon – Sad Days


No book news today.  It has been a rough few days at the Blue House.

Our 13 year-old pup, Kit, was diagnosed with a tumor in April.  She had been doing surprisingly well on pain meds and appetite stimulants right up until the middle of this past week and then she quit eating.  It was clear to us that she wasn’t going to rally and that she was beginning to suffer.

Yesterday we spent the morning in the garden.  Kit dug in the dirt and rested in the shade.  Then we went for a last car ride to visit her favorite veterinarian.  She is at rest now and we are sad.  We had a wonderful 12 years together.  I miss her.

Dogs have always been a part of my life.  During those few times when I have had to be without their company I felt a great lack.  Cats have been part of my life also but their company is different, more detached  I think.   It is amazing to me how big a part animals can have in our lives, how they become part of the family, even part of us as individuals.  I am fascinated by all of the research being done on animal behavior and their history as helpmates and companions.

We are grieving now but know that this will pass.  And Kit is running in the fields across the Rainbow Bridge.

29 Comments

Filed under Animals, Sunday Salon

29 responses to “Sunday Salon – Sad Days

  1. june

    I’m so very sorry and saddened for your loss of your beloved Kit. My heart goes out to you, for I know how you are feeling right now, having experienced this heartbreak and heartache so many times over the years with my beloved furry companions – both dogs and (mostly) cats.

    Yes, you’re right – you will see Kit again, when you meet up at the Rainbow Bridge. I know and take some comfort in thinking about meeting my beloved Mollie, Rudi, Finn, Rocky, Shibbles, Pooka, Holly, Shadow and Puddin’ – waiting for me there to greet them, to hold and hug them, and to play with them, as we always did.

    For all the sadness that accompanies the loss of our furry friends, I cannot imagine my life without a cat or a dog. They are more than pets to us – they are companions, confidants, buddies, best friends who care about us and love us unconditionally.

    It hurts now, and profoundly. I know. If I lived near you, I’d be over there with a cup of tea and lots of hugs (and shared tears).

    Kit is with you always, in your heart, in your memories. Not even death can take that away from us.

  2. My deepest condolences to you and your family. It’s true, our pets really do become so much more than animals to us. They really do become part of the family and our hearts. Wishing you much peace and comfort in the days to come.

  3. I’m so sorry, Gavin.

  4. Oh, m sympathies. I know it’s rough.

  5. Sorry to hear about this.

  6. Oh, Gavin – I am so very sorry for your loss. It is never an easy thing to say good-bye to one of our furbabies. I just know that Kit and Caribou and Argus are playing up there over the Rainbow Bridge…and we’ll see them again some day. *hugs*

    • Wendy, I know you know and I believe Kit, Caribou, Argus, Theo and Otis (Kit’s pals) are running and playing together. You are the one who introduced me to the Rainbow Bridge and I thank you for that. Please give Raven a great big hug for me:)

  7. Losing a pet is so damned hard. They occupy space in your heart and your life, and leaves a big gaping hole in everything when they are gone. I’m not sure I’m over our Lab’s death from 7 years ago, and I’m sure as heck not over losing our guinea pig in May. I’m sending you a big virtual hug.

  8. Having just gone through this my heart is with you.

  9. I am so sorry for your loss.

  10. I’m so sorry, Gavin.

  11. so sorry gavin ,this is one of the most heartbreaking things we can do I had same with merlin my first dog ,my thought are with you ,all the best stu and winston

  12. Ti

    You’re right about the cat/dog thing. I grew-up with cats all my life but they are totally different creatures and provide love in a totally different way than dogs do. Now that we have our pup I see it.

    I’m sorry your friend of 12+ years is no longer with you, but I am so happy that you had the opportunity to make memories together.

  13. I’m so, so sorry. The cat I had growing up died in March of 2005, and I still feel teary whenever March rolls around. It’s terrible losing a beloved pet. You’re in my thoughts this week.

  14. I’m so sorry:( We lost our dog Puccini over a year ago too and we still miss him terribly. Your picture of Kit with the little white bits near his mouth reminds me of him (ours was a black cocker spaniel). But we talk about all the funny things he did and I hope you and your family can do the same too.

Leave a Reply

