Sunday Salon

A good Sunday to you!   After a month of glorious summer weather I feel the change in the air.  Mornings are cool, leaves are starting to turn color and fall from the trees and I am ready for the new crop of apples, winter squash and pumpkins!   I woke up to rain, a good thing for the garden and a reminder of  fall and winter in the Pacific Northwest.

It was  the first full week with the children at school.  Great fun, but we were all tired by Friday.  I had a birthday. The children made me a card and sang the Birthday song.  Birthdays are something that my family never really celebrated, so I am very  quiet about mine and always embarrassed when people make a big deal about it.  This is something my friends tell me I should get over.

As for books and reading I managed to write a couple of short reviews, so seem to be over my writing block.   I am excited to be reading books for R.I.P.  VI including two young adult novels, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children and White Crow.  And I continue to make my way through War and Peace.

I have neglected my own TBR stacks, the ones sitting on the floor around the bookshelves in the den.  Maybe I should just stop going to the library.

Today we plan to go out to breakfast and visit the Farmer’s Market.  What are your plans for this Sunday?  What are you planning to read this week?

Sunday Salon is a place to share your thoughts about reading, books and your life.  There is a Sunday Salon Facebook group.

26 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

26 responses to “Sunday Salon

  1. Every time I stop going to the library my reading cuts down. I think I enjoy having new books coming in all the time. It just makes things fresh… I don’t even have to always read them. It is just nice to know they are there.

    • I understand about the library thing. Having those books come into my house makes me feel rich, even if I don’t read them all.

  2. I to am planning on reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children as well! In fact it’s currently sitting on my dining table, when I actually get to it is another story however. Happy Sunday!

  3. I’m dreaming of cooler weather here. Another seven days of 100+ temps last week. Whew. Not normal. And I’ve been sick. And overworked. And whiney.

    Oh dear. I’m not really sending out the right messages, am I? Not really sounding like my blog post this week will be uplifting and exciting….

    If only I could get over this awful cold. And if the weather would cool down…

    • Yuck! I hope the weather turns and you get over that nasty cold. I know you have a busy week coming up so take care of yourself!

  4. I can relate to those stacks of books just waiting to be read. I finally put my “old stacks” on something resembling a shelf in my bedroom (actually an old barbecue cart! Don’t ask!). I haven’t gone to the library in awhile for that reason…but I have lots of newer stacks in my office (thanks to bloggers’ recommendations and review books!).

    I do still want to read Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, though. Thanks for reminding me!

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  5. abandon the library? never!

    today’s plan is to buy fresh flowers from the fremont market and to read The House of the Seven Gables for the RIP readalong. and if there is time, a little trip to elliott bay never hurts…

  6. I have not done well with my TBR pile recently, either, but at least the review copies I’m reading are ones I really wanted, and not ones that don’t excite me. I hope to spend much of today getting through the book I’m currently reading, but I look forward to being done with the ARCs soon so I can get back to the books that call to me from my shelves!

    • I’m glad you are getting review copies you want to read! I stopped accepting them as I felt bad about not reading and reviewing them right away. By the way, I love you Freedom Riders post!

  7. Happy belated birthday, Gavin!! I’m so freaking excited that Fall is here!!

  8. The cooler weather feels so invigorating – fall is my favorite time of year! I’m reading The House of the Seven Gables this week and plan to start The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison. Am also trying to decide what my next audiobook will be. Belated happy birthday.

  9. Happy Birthday! I celebrated mine this month as well. It feels like many moons ago. I thought maybe fall was coming my way, but not quite yet. Summer isn’t ready to let go just yet.

    I hope you have a great week!

    • Thanks, I hope you had a wonderful Birthday! It definitely feels like fall here but I am hoping we get a bit of Indian Summer during October.

  10. Eva

    Happy birthday! :D

  11. Love the fall here. It started that warm to cool rainy drizzle this weekend. Perfect weater to go to Latins Farm for fresh apples, and hot cider. Then to Tumwater Falls to see the salmon run. I love living in the Pacific Northwest. It is perfect here.

    • Yes, it is perfect. I will have to check out Tumwater Falls for the salmon run. We go to the Cedar River for Sockeye and Piper’s Creek for Chum and Coho:)

  12. Ti

    Here’s a very quiet Happy Birthday… I will whisper it…

    Happy Birthday.

    Hope you had a nice day.

  13. My birthday was the week before and I, too, tend to keep it quiet. But it is a nice time of year to have a birthday I think, with such a feel of new beginnings and fresh start-ness to it. And I should put the library thing on hold for a bit too…but I can’t seem to do it.

  14. Happy belated birthday:)

Leave a Reply

