Sunday Salon – Reading Slump

Good Sunday to you.  The last couple of weeks have been busy with school events, parent events and just  too-many-things to do.  And since Wednesday I have been fighting off a cold.

I  seen to be in some kind of reading slump,  I pick up a book, read 30 pages or so, and put it down.  These are books I’ve had on my to-be-read list for some time. They are books others have read, reviewed and enjoyed.  I’m not sure how to get through this.

I did read and review a book I enjoyed this week, and have two short novels almost finished, but today I think I may just curl up with  a cup of tea and a mystery, hoping it will pull me in.

Sunday Salon is a place where readers share their thoughts about books and about reading.  There is a Facebook group here.

28 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

28 responses to “Sunday Salon – Reading Slump

  1. I hope you find something that really grabs you soon, Gavin! I was in a slump for many months this year and it was no fun :\

  2. I, on the other hand, am in a reading flow. The complete opposite of a slump. I love every book I pick up. Odd, isn’t it?

  3. I get so excited about reading something, but then once I start it, I’m distracted and want to read something else. I drive myself nuts. Hope you get over the crud, that probably doesn’t help. Happy Sunday to you!

  4. Sometimes, I have to set some books aside and pick up others. I have many books on my TBR stacks…but I’m drawn to the newer ones, especially if they’re mysteries.

    Although I did read one from my TBRs last week…a gruesome true story of a Black Widow.

    Here’s MY SUNDAY SALON POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  5. When I’m in a slump, I head for my short story shelf. If I’m only going to read 20 pages anyway, why not read something 20 pages long. At least I can get a blog post for Short Story Monday out of it that way.

    • Short Stories might just do it. I have a book titled “You’ve Got To Read This” which is made up of stories that contemporary authors loved. I bet that would do it.

  6. I get in occasional slumps!. I think everyone does. Sometimes it just talks a long time to find something that really grabs your attention. I hope you find it soon!

    • Thanks for your comment, Leighanne! I grabbed a couple of mysteries from my library today. Maybe one of them will fix my reading slump.

  7. Reading slumps are the worst! I hope you get through yours fast.

  8. Hope a day at home with a mystery and tea does the trick. I’m with James on the short stories… they are often just what I need to end a slump!

    • I ended up picking up War and Peace( I am 3/4 of the way through it) and have decided to finish that before I start something new! May that has just been hanging over my head.

  9. Amy

    I fell into a reading slump about 2 weeks ago and found myself reading 25 or 30 pages of several books but nothing was sticking. And then I picked up In the Woods by Tana French and I was hooked! I was still reading slowly but I wanted to read that book when I felt like reading.

    Good luck working out your reading slump! Tea and a mystery sounds like the perfect antidote.
    Enjoy your Sunday!

  10. Always – when in doubt, pick up a mystery. Hope you feel better soon.

  11. celawerd

    I pick up a play when I am in this situation. They are almost always a quick, easy read.

  12. A mystery or something you love as a reread should help Gavin hope so sure you’ll be back cutting through those pages all the best stu

  13. I’ve been reading very slowly lately as well. I also abandoned a few books, which isn’t typical. I think it’s the strangely warm weather… or something.

    • Our weather has turned cool and rainy, maybe that’s why I’m craving a mystery. I also want to find a copy of Monsters In America!

  14. Yech, I hate when that happens. I can never understand why, which is part of what’s so frustrating. I hope you find the right book soon! I usually end up picking up lighter, quicker, more engrossing books when I hit a slump.

    • Thanks, Erin. It is unusual for me to be in a reading slump so I’m a bit befuddled. I guess the timing is not right for some of the books I’ve tried lately.

Leave a Reply

