Sunday Salon – Better Late Than Never

Good Sunday (or Monday) as the case may be.  We’ve had a week of cloudy, cool weather and it is time for the famous Pacific Northwest rains.  We are out enjoying the sun whenever it shows itself, must grab the rays when we can.

I am slowly getting over my reading slump.  I’ve decided to finish War and Peace this month and that is going well.  I also visited the library and brought home Let Me In, a perfect book for reading as we move towards Halloween and one I will add to my R.I.P reviews.

Today Mr G and I visited the local animal shelter and brought home a 5-year-old cat named Cassandra.  After losing Kit this summer we decided to open our home to a cat and a dog and figured the cat should come first.

Cassandra is an American short hair, black with smattering of white on her chest.  Her eyes are a brilliant gold.  She is beautiful and, at present, hiding under the covers in the bedroom.  I will provide pictures as soon as she begins to relax.  Have a wonderful week!

17 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

17 responses to “Sunday Salon – Better Late Than Never

  1. Congratulations on your new member of the family!

    I’ve seen the movie Let Me In, I have the book sitting here on my shelf to read. I saw the original Swedish movie and really enjoyed it. His other book Handling the Dead I really enjoyed – superb zombie book. I can hardly wait for your review of Let Me In! Thank heavens for reading slumps ending (I’m in one now), and for sunny moments on rainy days.

    • I saw the original Swedish movie too, that’s what made me want to read the book. I am hoping to find more of Lindqvist’s books at my library. Hope you have a great week, Susan.

  2. Sounds like you have a wonderful addition to your family. The sunset was magnificent over Puget Sound today. Did you see it?

    • Thanks for leaving a comment! Cassandra has started coming out from under the covers and is a smart, happy cat. I saw bits of that sunset out my front window. They have been rather magnificent lately.

  3. I can’t wait to see Cassandra! Congratulations on the addition to the family :)

  4. Congratulations on your new addition!

  5. Ti

    Congrats on your new kitty! Our pup, whom we adopted last February is such a love, but I don’t think she’d take to a cat too well. One never knows though. She acts very much like my kitty that passed. She has all the same mannerisms. We like to think she was raised by cats.

  6. I finished Let Me In (Let the Right One In, U.S. title) and really enjoyed it. Mind you, it’s quite graphic and disturbing, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. If you like a good horror story for the cooler season, than this would be the one! Enjoy! I’m hoping to rent the movie this week to compare.

    • I’m enjoying Let Me In and would suggest that you see the Swedish version of the film before the US version. I really enjoyed it.

  7. Congrats on the new kitty. I look forward to pictures!

  8. How wonderful to open your home to a shelter cat!! I hope Cassandra adjusts to your home soon. Can’t wait to see a photo!

    • Cassandra is starting to explore the house and seems to be a very smart and happy cat. I think we got lucky. Our visit to the shelter has me wanting to volunteer there!

  9. Eva

    Congrats Gavin! :D I hope Cassandra fits in well and that you find a puppy companion for her eventually. I know from experience that can be a bit of a challenge, but it’s so worth it in the end.

Leave a Reply

