Sunday Salon – Autumn and Winter

Good Sunday to you!  In the Pacific Northwest it feels like we are finally into fall and winter is coming.  When the sun is out the air is beautiful and crisp.  The leaves are red and golden and most are on the ground.  I love this time of year and also dread the days when the cloud cover is so dense it feels like we are under a deep gray blanket.

When the gray get to be too much, I drape strings of white lights around the house, put full spectrum light bulbs in my lamps, and light candles.  All this reminds me that the sun will be back.

I finished War and Peace this week.  There were times when it was a struggle and times when it was a joy.  The people reading along on the Facebook group certainly helped but  I think reading it in fits and starts added to my reading slump.  The book was always on my mind, never really allowing me to really fall into another story.  I don’t know if I will write a post on it, maybe after some time has passed.

I visited the library this week and found I’d lost control of my hold list.  Waiting for me was a stack of books, all of which I want to read right now.  Where should I start?

Where should I start?  Have you read any of these books and, if you did, what did you think of them?

Sunday Salon is a place where people who love  books and reading share their thoughts.  The Facebook group is here.

15 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

15 responses to “Sunday Salon – Autumn and Winter

  1. I have not read any of them, but I’d start with Stone Arabia. I know that a long string of any particular type of weather can soon become a bore, but I also the grey days I spent in the Pacific Northwest. We had such a long mild summer this year, here in California, that I’m craving a string of gray drizzily days.

  2. Now, I love the dark cloud cover. It is my favorite thing about living in Olympia. Fresh hot bread, warm soup, a cup of tea, a good book, and the sound of rain on the roof. PERFECT

    • I don’t mind gray and rain for a day or two. I just have a problem with weeks and weeks of dark skies. Thanks for your comment!

  3. Oh! Oh! Oh! Tana French. Love her to death. I also have heard really good things about Once Upon a River, and have it on my Kindle. I’d vote for either.

  4. Congratulations on finishing War and Peace! It’s a book that I’ve been meaning to read for years. The Cat’s Table sounds like a book you would love. Have a great week.

  5. Congrats to finishing War & Peace; think I am going to try next year and the plan is to devote the majority of my February and March to reading the book.

    • Reading War and Peace was great, and I think your idea of taking a couple of months to read it will work well. I do plan on writing about it eventually. Thanks for your comment.

  6. Ti

    What a great stack of books! I’d start with Cat’s Table.

  7. Congrats on finishing War and Peace! I really want to read that one of these days, but it is a huge undertaking…

  8. What a tough decision. I plopped all of Bonnie Jo Campbell’s books on my TBR list after having an interview with her, but I haven’t read anything yet. Still want to though! I did read Jamrach’s Menagerie, when it hit the Orange list this spring, and I thought it was very impressive. I’ll be starting The Cat’s Table later today…last of my Giller longlist reading. Interested to hear your thoughts on whatever you’ve picked up!

Leave a Reply

