Sickish..

I have been down with a miserable cold since Thanksgiving and it has kept me from blogging and from visiting my favorite bookish blogs.  I am on the mend.

I did manage to read three books.

Garden Spells by Sarah Addison Allen

Bantam, New York, 2007

Borrowed from my library.

A sweet fantasy about two sisters, a magical garden and their family legacy.  The story’s theme and  Allen’s writing style reminds me of Alice Hoffman.


Witches On The Road Tonight by Sheri Holman

Atlantic Monthly Press, New York, 2011

Borrowed from my library.

Another magical novel.  Follows members of family from the hills of Appalachia in the 1930’s to present day New York City.  inding through this story are folk tales and family heritage, very atmospheric.  I liked this novel and want to read more of Holman’s work.

I also read Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close and plan to write a review over the weekend.  For those of you who celebrated Thanksgiving I hope you had a wonderful holiday!

7 Comments

Filed under Fantasy

7 responses to “Sickish..

  1. I hope you feel better soon! At least you are getting some reading done. :)

  2. Sarah Addison Allen is a good choice for when you’re sick. Hope you get well soon!

  3. Hope you feel better soon. I’ve been fighting a cold all this week. ick.

  4. Winter is horrible for these things. I sure hope you start to feel better soon. I am not a huge fan of Allen, but I am in the extreme minority. I didn’t mind so much The Peach Keeper, but Garden Spells set me on edge. I think a kooky sounding narrator on audio didn’t help either. But it is gentle, and like Jill said, probably what you need when you are sick.

  5. Hope you feel 100% again soon. At least it wasn’t all bad – 3 books in a sickness is pretty good!

  6. Feel better soon. Your books sound so interesting. I’m definitely going to check out that Holman book.

  7. hope you feel better ,I was off last week but had a cold as well so spent time at home with amanda ,all the best stu

Leave a Reply

