Through Black Spruce by Joseph Boyden

Through Black Spruce by Joseph Boyden

Viking, New York, 2009

From my library hold list.  Winner of the 2008 ScotiaBank Giller Prize.

A follow-up to Boyden’s first novel, Three Day Road, this book tells the story of a Frist Nations family through the voices of two members.

Will Bird, a bush pilot with a wild past, lies in a coma in the hospital in his home town, Moose Factory, Ontario.  His niece Annie, after returning home from a journey she took to Montreal and New York in search of her sister Suzanne, sits by his bedside.

In his dreams Will revisits his life and tells Annie of the distant and recent past.  Having been told that talking to her uncle may help him recover, Annie tells him stories.  She tells of her memories growing up, of her journey in search of herself and her connections to her family.  As each of these wounded souls reveals their past a story grows, of history, of betrayal and of resilience.

Boyden writes with humor and with a deep  understanding of the hidden nature of places and of people.  In the end this is a story of forgiveness, of family and of self.

11 Comments

Filed under Canadian, CanadianBookChallenge5, LiteraryFiction, Thoughts

11 responses to “Through Black Spruce by Joseph Boyden

  1. I loved this book! I read it a couple of years ago and am always excited to see that someone else has read it.

  2. This sounds like a nice, quiet book. I’m going to add it to my reading list.

  3. I really need to read this! I really enjoyed Three Day Road and have owned this forever…

  4. buriedinprint

    Someday I just need to sit down with his books and read them; I’m so convinced that I’m going to enjoy them and admire them, but I haven’t read a word of them yet!

  5. I have had Three Day Road on my TBR shelf for a few years now. My brother really loved it. I don’t know why I haven’t read it yet, I want to! Your review of this one, the sequel, reminds me to push up Three Day Road again. I’m glad you enjoyed it, so many people have.

  6. Barbara

    Started reading Through Black Sprue yesterday Can,t put it down. My husband and I plan to visit ASAP but hate the thought of all those black files Am I too old at 81 years of age?

Leave a Reply

