The Poetry Project 2012-2013

Thanks to Vasilly , I’ve learned about the Poetry Project revamp organized by Lu at Regular Rumination and Kelly at The Written World.  The event is a year-long project and originally had folks posting at the end of the month.  Now participants can write about poetry, poets and poetry events any time they want.  If you are stuck for an idea there are monthly prompts and there will be a Mr. Linky post up on the first Wednesday of the month.

For the revamp Kelly and Lu have asked participants to answer a few questions:

Why do you want to join for the Poetry Project? I enjoy poetry, love to read it, love to listen to it and have on occsion attempted to write it.  I have always been hesitant writing about poetry so I feel this project is a , good way to start.
Do you have a favorite poet? I have many favorites and am adding more to my list all the time.   Naomi Shihab Nye, Joy Harjo, Mary Oliver, William Stafford, W.S. Merwin, John Haines, Richard Hugo, Linda Bierds , Louise Gluck, Bridget Pegeen Kelly, Adrianne Rich, Thomas McGrath, Marianne Boruch are just some names from my poetry bookshelf.
Hopefully this will go longer than a year. Do you have any suggestions for themes? Others have mentioned some great themes but I would add poetry in translation and possibly regional poetry.
What are your experiences with poetry in the past? Have they been positive or negative? I have heard many poets read their work and have read different kinds of poetry.  My experiences have been wonderful.
Tell us about a poem or poet that has had a profound effect on you. If you can’t think of a poem, how about a song? Or a line from a story? There is a poem by William Stafford that I have returned to again and again…

THE WAY IT IS – William Stafford

There’s a thread you follow. It goes among
things that change. But it doesn’t change.
People wonder about what you are pursuing.
You have to explain about the thread.
But it is hard for others to see.
While you hold it you can’t get lost.
Tragedies happen; people get hurt
or die; and you suffer and get old.
Nothing you do can stop time’s unfolding.
You don’t ever let go of the thread.

What frustrates you about poetry or the way we talk about poetry? I have often found poetry “criticism” very elitist and distancing.  I would like us to write and talk about poetry the way we write and talk about other forms of writing, fiction and non-fiction, the way we share our thoughts through book blogs.
Tell us something about yourself that has nothing to do with poetry!  I love gardening…

8 Comments

Filed under Events, Poetry, Poetry Project, Thoughts

8 responses to “The Poetry Project 2012-2013

  1. … and we each hold our own thread. No?
    I agree with your estimation of poetry ‘criticism’ wholeheartedly. And I love gardening as well.

  2. Hello! I’ve just joined this project too. I have only recently rediscovered my love of poetry and am really keen to get inspiration for new poets to try.

  3. I’m so glad you decided to join! You’ve added some amazing anthologies and poets to my tbr list over the years.

  4. I completely agree with your description of poetry criticism being elitist, That is my biggest frustration as well. I just joined the project and am excited to discover new poets and ideas.

  5. good luck Gavin ,all the best stu

  6. Lu

    Whenever I see Naomi Shihab Nye on one of these lists, I am very happy :)

    I love the poem you shared. Thanks for joining us, Gavin! I’m really looking forward to your posts.

  7. I am also a lover of Stafford. I don’t think all the people who write about poetry mean to be elitist, and blogging about poems seems a good antidote to some of the kinds of criticism that can be opaque.

    • Thanks, Jeanne. I think you are right that most people writing about poetry don’t mean to be elitist. I’ve just run into a few! Hoping the Poetry Project will open me up to writing about poetry.

Leave a Reply

