Books for R.I.P. VII and A More Diverse Universe

I’m not one for making book lists (other than my 500+ to-be-read list) but I thought it would be fun to make a list  of possible books for R.eaders I.mbibing P.eril VII and include some for A More Diverse Universe along with them:

Blackbirds by Chuck Wendig

Bloodchild and Other Stories by Octavia Butler

Collected Ghost Stories by M. R. James

Dark Matter: A Century of Speculative Fiction from the African Diaspora Ed: Sheree R. Thomas

Feed by Mira Grant

Haunted Legends edited by Ellen Datlow and Nick Mamatas

Mr Fox by Helen Oyeyemi

Of Tales and Enigmas by Minsoo Kang

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson

The Last Kind Words by Tom Piccirilli

The Liminal People by Ayize Jama-Everett

Those Across The River by Christopher Buehlman

and I’d like to reread The Graveyard Book for the group read.  I also have an interesting looking non-fiction book, Monsters in America by W. Scott Poole.  I know I won’t get to all of these!

11 Comments

Filed under Books, Events, R.I.P. VII

11 responses to “Books for R.I.P. VII and A More Diverse Universe

  1. I’m curious to see what you think of Bloodchild. I read a couple of Butler’s novels this year and love her writing.

    • I’ve read Butler’s novels but not her short stories. If I can find a copy of Parable of the Sower I will add it to my list. I’d like to reread that one.

  2. I have found that if I just READ, I fulfill my RIP. Which I guess tells you something about my normal reading list! I have Monsters in America as well, but have yet to tackle it. Some year maybe!

  3. Oh I’d love to know what you think of Mr. Fox. I had a really hard time with that book!

  4. The Collected Ghost Stories of M.R. James is fantastic. Hope you get to it.

  5. Feed! Yaaay! It’s so good, my 23 year old son read it after I did, and he could hardly put it down :-) The Haunting of Hill House – one of my favourites! so deliciously creepy (for me, anyway). I have the Collected Ghost Stories of MR James, but so many short story collections are calling, I’m not sure what I’m going to get read for the challenge, so hesitated at putting that one on too. Haunted Legends – I can’t seem to find it in softcover here, so I’ll be anxiously waiting your review to see if it’s worth getting.

    Wonderful exciting list you have, Gavin! Thanks for sharing :-D

    • You are welcome, Susan. I haven’t picked up Feed yet because I have a couple books to finish and I know that one will be one I can’t put down!

  6. great list Gavin ,all the best stu

Leave a Reply

