Those Across The River by Christopher Buehlman

Those Across The River by Christopher Buehlman

Ace Books, New York, 2011

Borrowed from my library. Nominated for the 2012 World Fantasy Award.  This is the first book I’ve read for R.I.P. VII.

I think is I try to summarize this novel I might give something away so I am including a quote from the author’s website:

The year is 1935. Veteran of the Great War and failed academic Frank Nichols ignores a warning not to move into the home he inherits in the small southern town of Whitbrow; a home his wife calls “The Canary House” because of its fresh coat of yellow paint.

But there is another house in the woods beyond the river, an estate that lies in ruins; the once-magnificent Savoyard plantation, where a cruel forebear of Frank’s drove his slaves to murder him. Frank means to find this ruin and write about the horrors that occurred there, but little does he suspect that his presence in town will stir something that should have been left sleeping. Something with a long memory. If the people of Whitbrow have forgotten why they don’t go across the river, they will soon remember.

This is southern gothic with a twist.   Buehlman has written a novel that evokes the years of the Great Depression in a small town in the southern United States, with undercurrents of poverty and racism.  More than that, there is terror.   Hidden away on the other side of the river is memory, and that memory carries horror with it.  This combination of elements creates an interesting analogy, horror and parts of our history as a nation.  I found this a great read for R.I.P.  Give it a try.

9 Comments

Filed under Books, DarkFantasy, Horror, R.I.P. VII, Thoughts

9 responses to “Those Across The River by Christopher Buehlman

  1. Will check this one out as it sounds rather good. I’m currently reading The White Road by John Connolly (part of his Charlie Parker horror/crime series) for RIP, and this also has a slavery/deep south setting. Finding it really gripping and not a little scary.

  2. This sounds excellent.
    Thanks
    Lynn :D

  3. Ariel

    I read this last year for RIP and absolutely loved it. That scene in the school house gave me nightmares.

  4. It does sound like a good RIP read. The fact that the weather still feels like summer is making me drag my feet to pick my RIP books.

  5. This sounds like a really good book. I’m going to see if my library has this. Now all I need is some cold weather to go with it. ;-)

  6. Hahaha, if someone ever warned me not to move into a mansion house because DOOM, I would not do it. I have read enough fiction by now to know that this would be the appropriate action to take!

  7. Before I read The Freedom Maze by Delia Sherman earlier this year (and loved it), I had a tendency to shy away from any stories with a slavery plot line. It is irrational but it mostly had to do with the incorrect idea that I had enough education about it and didn’t need it in my entertainment. But it only takes a few good books to realize how wrong that is, and Too Kill a Mockingbird a few years back and the aforementioned Freedom Maze have taught me that there is a lot I can still learn and contemplate when a good story engages on these issues. This one sounds like it could be that kind of story.

  8. Hmmm, I think this goes on the tbr, too. Thank you. Not that I need more RIP suggestions, but can you really ever have too many?

  9. I was going to read this book in October, as well, but it turns out the audiobook has really bad reviews (poor recording), so I guess I’ll have to wait. Nice to see of a review of it, though. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

