Banned Books Week

Sunday marks the beginning of the 30th Banned Books Week.  One of my favorite journalists, Bill Moyers and his wife Judith Davidson Moyers have been named honorary co-chairs for this event, which runs from September 30th to October 6th.  There is a great post from Steven Isenberg, the executive director if the PEN American Center here.

I am constantly amazed at the number and scope of the books that are challenged or banned across the world, for any number of reasons.  The above link has many lists and Melissa at The Feminist Texican has a list of books currently banned by the Tucson, Arizona school system.

Looking at the top 100 books banned in the first decade of the 21st century I couldn’t help but notice Number One on that list.  I will be rereading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone over the next few days.  Don’t you think that goes nicely with R.I.P.VII?

1 Comment

Filed under BannedBooksWeek, Events

One response to “Banned Books Week

  1. I’m still trying to figure out what to read for Banned Books Week. Sadly, there’s so many choices but I do plan on celebrating my freedom to read whatever I want!

Leave a Reply

