Playing Catch-Up

Due to lots going on at work, and my fighting a coldish thing,  I’ve been sleeping a lot and have not been around the internets of late.  I’m still here,  reading, just not writing, and am excited about two reading events coming up in January.  I wanted to want to tell you about them.

One event, organized by Ana and Iris,  invites readers to settle down during the month of January and read some of  those long-awaited books.  You know, the ones that have been sitting on your shelf for ages and ages, waiting to be read, while you get distracted by a fancy cover or something just published by a favorite author.  I have a couple of stacks of them..Please note,  this is not a challenge but because things are often better when we share them, an event that will hopefully get us reading those books we’ve been meaning to get to for ages.

The second event is organized by James, of Ready When You Are, C.B., and his lovely dog Dakota.  This year they invite us to join the TBR Double Dog Dare.  This is the third year James has called the Dare, which runs from January 1st through April 1st, and encourages us to read only books already sitting on our shelves or books requested from the library before January 1st.  You can make exceptions for book club choices or other events.  Last year I allowed myself a couple of books for the Science Fiction Experience that Carl V. organizes, but other than those books,  I  managed to stick with the Dare for the entire three months.

Between these  two events, I am hoping to read many of the books that have managed to sneak into the house over the last year.  I’m not really sure how this happens.  They just seem to suddenly appear.  Just this week I found these two sitting in a box on my doorstep..

14 Comments

Filed under Books, Events

14 responses to “Playing Catch-Up

  1. Thanks for posting about these, Gavin. I have a big shelf full of books that I bought over the past year/two years that I haven’t read yet, and when I totalled up the ones I really want to read soon, it amounted to more than the number of books I normally read in a year! So I definitely need something like Ana’s challenge….and CB’s, which I haven’t joined before, but have considered. Time to get my challenge hat on!

    • You are welcome, Susan. I will be sitting down at some point and creating a list of books I want to reads during the TBR dare. I’ve never made a list before but hope it will keep me focused on my stacks of books-to-be-read!

  2. Thank you for sharing the news. I’m glad you’re thinking of participating! I’m also secretly contemplating the TBR dare, but I know I’ll probably fail :)

    And I hope you’re enjoying the Pullman collection. I have it on my Christmas list :)

  3. I’m so glad you’re joining us, Gavin! And I hope you enjoy Pullman’s fairy tales. I’m reading them at the moment and they’re a delight.

  4. Both sound like worthy events but I just fell in love with the double dog dare button!!!! So cute! Good luck. Enjoy clearing off your bookshelves.

  5. sandynawrot

    The Double Dog Dare has become a THING for me…I have to do it, and it has even influenced the way I do things when the dare isn’t effective. Might as well hop on the Ana/Iris bandwagon too while I’m at it.

  6. two good challenges ,all the best stu

  7. Thanks for linking to our little ‘challenge’. Dakota and I appreciate it. I’m hoping for 100 participants this year, so I really need to start pushing it a little bit more.

  8. I love the cover of the new Pullman book. I hope your cold goes away. Those things are going around. I’ve signed up for the same challenges. Good luck with them.

Leave a Reply

