Tag, You’re It!

liebster_award

Checking comments on a recent post I learned I’d been tagged with a Liebster award by Arti at Ripple Effects.  I have seen this award posted on several blogs, including Beauty Is A Sleeping Cat and Tales From The Reading Room.  The Liebster was created to introduce readers to new blogs, and the number and type of questions have shifted over time.  I’m going to use some of Arti’s and a couple of my own.

1. What do you think of literary prizes? Good idea or bad?

Like several other book bloggers, I enjoy literary prizes.  I search  lists for authors that are new to me, add many books to my to-be-read piles, am sometimes disappointed and often thrilled by what I discover.  I was re-introduced to Hilary Mantel by reading “Wolf Hall”, and am now reading “John Saturnall’s Feast” by Lawrence Norfolk, and loving it.  Both came to me through the Booker Prize.  I look forward to the Giller Prize, the National Book Award, IMPAC, the Commonwealth Prize, the Orange Prize and many others including the Hugo, the Arthur C Clark and the Edgar Awards.  I do know there is some controversy around some of these awards, but I choose to overlook that.

2. If you could write any sort of book, what would you write?

Ah, a secret fantasy.  Poetry.   Like this, this or this.   I attempt to write poetry.  Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t.

3. Describe your ideal home library/study.

A room filled with natural light, walls covered with book shelves, a big oak desk, a fireplace, two wing-backed chairs and a comfy couch.  French doors that lead to a garden, beyond the garden, the sea.  Oh, and a cat.  No, two cats.

4.  Name an author you feel you should love but don’t.  Or a “classic” you feel should have read but haven’t.

Haruki Mirakami.  I’ve tried and tried to love his fiction, but it just doesn’t grab me.

5.  What book do you hope to get for the holidays?

Far from the Tree: Parents, Children and the Search for Identity by Andrew Soloman.  Huge, dense and just fascinating to me.  Maybe because I work with children and families.

6. What’s the last book you did not finish and why?

Leaving the Atocha Station by Ben Lerner.  A first I was intrigued, then it started feeling like so many other books I had read, a rehash of Catcher in the Rye.    I think I’m too old for this ironic and cynical style of writing.

7.  If you could have dinner with any author, living or dead, who would it be?

Did I just ask that question?  At the moment my choice would be Hilary Mantel because I want her to explain to me how she does what she does.  There are hints here and here.  I am waiting for Bring Up The Bodies to come from my library.

This is an interesting meme, as it lets you into a bit of a blogger’s life.  For my next trick I’m tagging Claire, James, Jane, RaiderGirl, Sakura, Stu and Vasilly.  Use these questions if you want or make up your own.

6 Comments

Filed under Awards, Events

6 responses to “Tag, You’re It!

  1. I haven’t been tagged for anything for ages! I’ll have to be sure to pass this one along. It may take me a few days to get to it all….

  2. Yes, a library with natural light is a must! Far From the Tree is on my tbr list too. I’m #1 on the holds list at my library for it. If you read it before I do, let me know what you think. It might end up being an early Christmas present to myself. :-) I hope that awful cold leaves you alone soon.

  3. thanks for picking me I will try and do a post other next week or two ,all the best stu

  4. Oooh….I want your library (but with my two dogs instead of the cats.)

  5. Love your library, and I agree with the writing poetry, which I do also. My secret fantasy is getting it published and not having to appear in public! lol

    Good meme, I enjoyed the questions and the answers.

  6. Thank you! I love finding out more about my favourite bloggers and am mulling over the questions.

Leave a Reply

