New Year’s Wishes and Favorite Books from 2012

new-years1

Wishing you a Happy, Healthy and Peaceful New Year.

The last few weeks have kept me from the computer, but not from reading.  I’m finishing several books in preparation for the New Year, the Long Awaited Reads Month and the TBR Double Dog Dare.   I’ll be joining one new challenge in 2013, plan to continue with the 6th Canadian Book Challenge, and hope to read along with several on-going events including the Literature and War Readalong.

As for what I have read in 2012, here are some of my favorites:

Behind The Beautiful Forevers by Katherine Boo

Errantry: Strange Stories by Elizabeth Hand

John Saturnall’s Feast by Lawrence Norfolk

Lost Memory of Skin by Russell Baker

Midnight’s Children by Salman Rushdie

Osama by Lavie Tidhar

Possession by A.S. Byatt

Pure by Andrew Miller.

Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller

I seem to be developing quite a taste for historical fiction, something that is new to me.  Have you discovered a new to you genre this past year?  A genre that you find yourself drawn back to?

20 Comments

Filed under Books, Favorites, Thoughts

20 responses to “New Year’s Wishes and Favorite Books from 2012

  1. I got Behind The Beautiful Forevers with a Christmas gift card and can’t wait to read it. Also, I need to get my hands on Errantry. Happy New Year, Gavin!

  2. A very Happy New Year to you as well. And thanks for joining the readalong and the link.

  3. I have Behind the Beautiful Forevers on my wishlist to get – too late for the Double Dog Dare! – and really want to read John Saturnall’s Feast. I couldn’t find it here yet. I’m really pleased to see they made your books of the year, along with Pure, which I started from the library but had to send back. I’m being drawn back to mysteries and science fiction – my box of books for Xmas was 2/3 mysteries, and when I went to the secondhand yesterday, I found mostly old sf!!

    Happy 2013 Gavin, and may you have lots of reading this year :-)

  4. happy new year ,all the best stu

  5. Happy 2013! And yay for The Song of Achilles. I recently ordered Possession as a belated Sinterklaas gift for myself, I’m curious to finally give it a try.

  6. Happy 2013 to you too Gavin!! Wishing you all the best!!

  7. Behind the Beautiful Forevers was one of my favorites this year also. Still need to finish Midnight’s Children.

  8. Gavin,

    Glad you’ve had a rewarding year of reading. In particular, thank you for sharing in the Read-Along experience, my first, and definitely something I’d like to do maybe every year. This year we’ll be reading Bonhoeffer the biography, and Proust. Hope you can join me in either one. But I know you’re busy with your own Reading Challenges, so I totally understand. As long as we keep in touch and mutual visits, we can still maintain our bloggy, virtual friendship. ;) In case you’re curious, here’s the link to my plans for Read-Along 2013. Hope you can join in one of them, or both. Happy New Year to you and yours, Gavin.

  9. I returned to an old favorite genre this year–at least read more of it since I never really left it behind. That of the mystery. It made for a great and fun year of reading. I do love historical fiction though and perhaps will find myself reading more along those lines this year. You’ve got some great titles there, Gavin! Definitely worth checking out.

    Have a very Happy New Year!

  10. Ti

    I have a love/hate relationship with Historical Fiction. Sometimes I love it but I never go for that genre without encouragement.

  11. Happy new year Gavin! I rediscovered my love of Greek myths after being bowled over by The Song of Achilles and I hope it continues.:)

  12. It is nice to see The Lost Memory of Skin get a mention – I thought the first half of that book was outstanding. John Saturnall’s Feast keeps being mentioned. I’ll have to give it a try soon. Have a wonderful 2013!

  13. Toward the end of this year I’m finding myself drawn to comics for the first time in, like, basically ever. I think 2013 is going to be the year of Marvel Comics for me. :p Happy New Year, Gavin!

Leave a Reply

