Reading and Blogging

kids-readingI’ve found myself far from the computer lately, having to reevaluate my reading and my blogging.

I’ve been reading, mostly non-fiction, some science fiction for a couple of challenges, and some older titles off my TBR stacks.  What I’m finding is I don’t seem to have a lot to say about these books right now.  Maybe my brain is tired, stress at work, stress in life, who knows?

What I’ve decided is that I will not worry about writing reviews of books for a while.  If I am inspired by something then I will certainly voice that here and I hope you will continue to stop by and leave comments if you feel like it.  And I will continue to visit your lovely blogs whenever I can.

19 Comments

Filed under Books, RandomPost, Thoughts

19 responses to “Reading and Blogging

  1. Pingback: I Took Books for Therapy | Wander Writer

  2. I totally understand. I had to take a month off…just couldn’t keep up. There are days that go by and I don’t sit down at my computer for longer than 5 or 10 minutes. But this is a good thing, right?

  3. Ti

    A log of bloggers are taking a break right now. The work/life balance seems a little out of whack for a lot of us. Hang in there. I certainly know what it feels like to deal with work stress. Take care of yourself and check in when you are ready.

  4. I had been wondering where you were. Sometimes a break can be really refreshing. Hope you come back to blogging soon!

    • Thanks, Jeanne. I think part of needing the break comes from what I think I have to do with my blog. That has gotten mixed up with what I want to do with my blog:)

  5. I think that’s exactly the right attitude to be honest. You should only write if you wish to do so. This is just a hobby for me and if I don’t feel like posting then so be it. It’s not supposed to be a chore. Plus you have to keep it all in balance and get on with your everyday life. Hope all is good and that you find an excellent book soon to help relieve your stress.
    Take care.
    Lynn :D

  6. I understand. I often find myself reading books and later having nothing to say/write about them. Take care of yourself.

  7. Eva

    I think almost everyone needs a blogging break now and then. I hope you come back to blogging, because I love your blog, but even more I hope you enjoy your break. :)

  8. I find breaks work for me Gavin I get worried about reviews piling up then just take break and come back refreshed ,look forward to your return ,all the best stu

  9. totally understand – have a nice break and I will welcome seeing your posts whenever you are ready to continue.

  10. I go through periods like that too! It’s a bummer but I bet you’ll feel better after a break. Enjoy it! I’ll be enjoying seeing your posts, whatever they’re about.

  11. I just started my blog this week and I ALREADY understand what you mean! No worries, inspiration doesn’t come to one’s mind for every book they read! I am excited to read your posts in the future!

  12. How about a leisurely reading of Proust? In Search of Lost Time Vol. 1 Swann’s Way read-along just started. One month to read about 200 pages then post. It’s slow and flexible. Care to join? Here’s my update post. Still remember how enjoyable it was to read Midnight’s Children with you. :)

Leave a Reply

