It is Spring – Once Upon A Time VII

once7mainbanner300

It’s Spring and Once Upon A Time is here.  Running from the March 21 to the June 21, Stainless Steel Droppings magical challenge is one of my favorite yearly events. From Carl V’s website:

Thursday, March 21st begins the seventh annual Once Upon a Time Challenge. This is a reading and viewing event that encompasses four broad categories: Fairy Tale, Folklore, Fantasy and Mythology, including the seemingly countless sub-genres and blending of genres that fall within this spectrum. The challenge continues through Friday, June 21st and allows for very minor (1 book only) participation as well as more immersion depending on your reading/viewing whims.

The Once Upon a Time VI Challenge has a few rules:

Rule #1: Have fun.

Rule #2: HAVE FUN.

Rule #3: Don’t keep the fun to yourself, share it with us, please!

Rule #4: Do not be put off by the word “challenge”.

There are many ways to participate, I plan on taking The Journey, which means I only need to read one book from any of the categories.  I plan one reading many more than that.

I am hoping OUAT VII and Arti’s Proust Read-Along will get me back into blogging about what I am reading.

thejourney71

11 Comments

Filed under Books, Events, Once Upon A Time VII, Read-Along

11 responses to “It is Spring – Once Upon A Time VII

  1. TBM

    I signed up today as well. Have fun and happy reading!

  2. Look forward to hearing about what you read. Have fun. :-)

  3. The Journey’s a great option for participating without pressure. I guess I’m doing Quest the First, because I’m sure I’ll read at least five fantasies…but I usually don’t worry too much about specifically what I’m signing up for. I just run merrily along and see what happens. :)

    • Same here, Cheryl. I have discovered that I have a large stack of books that fit into the OUAT challenge and wonder how many I will get through!

  4. OH Gavin, I hope this challenge gets you reading again. You know I will come read your posts no matter how often you post. I am curious about some of your books you think you might read. Do you have any on your shelves, or are you treating yourself to one you want to read, for the challenge?

    Enjoy it – I know you will – and take care :-)

    • Susan, I have been reading, just not posting! I do have a stack of books that fit into the OUAT parameters, not sure what I will read yet. I did just finish a Diana Wynne Jones masterpiece!

  5. I’m doing the journey as well, and will probably read more than one as well, because I don’t want the pressure. OUaT is a little outside my usual reading genre. I find I take part more fully every two years. I think I read my fill, and then over the next two years, file away some fantasy for the next one.
    Happy reading!

  6. Hi Gavin, I’m looking forward to reading your posts for this challenge and glad that you will be getting back to blogging a little about what you’ve been reading. I always enjoy your posts!

Leave a Reply

