Sunday Salon – Summer Break!

Happy Sunday and a good Father’s Day to all the dads out there!  The children are done for the summer and I just have a couple of days left to help wrap up the classroom.  The sun came out for several days and temperatures reached a balmy 70 degrees, just perfect!  I know, I shouldn’t complain, I’d much rather be here then somewhere hot and humid.  Tuesday is the Summer Solstice, one of my favorite nights of the year.  Mr G and I are hoping to be on the beach to watch the sunset, if the weather cooperates.

I have finished and reviewed a few books over the last couple of weeks,  enjoyed them all, but they have been about conflict and war so I am definitely ready for a change.  Today I plan to finish The Psychopath Test by Jon Ronson, a humorous and telling report on all things psychological, including the DSM IV .  Ronson, a British journalist, wrote one of the strangest, funniest books I have ever read, The Men Who Stare At Goats, and I am finding his newest funny and scary at the same time.  I have been reading Titus Groan for the Gormenghast Read-Along, am still plugging away at War and Peace and am trying to decide what to read for Orange July.  What about you, what are your reading plans for today?  For this week?

12 Comments

Filed under Sunday Salon

12 responses to “Sunday Salon – Summer Break!

  1. Ooooh…the psychopath test sounds good! And I would kill for 70 degrees :p Gorgeous photo!

  2. So many great books to choose from for Orange July. I hope you find something you like. And thanks for the mention in your blog! =)

  3. I’m ready to read something light. Everything I’ve read so far this summer has been sad or dark.

    Here’s my Sunday Salon.

    • I know, Deb, it seems everything I have on hold at the library is darkish right now. With all you are doing right now make sure you are taking time for yourself:)

  4. Yay for summer!! And also, I’m intrigued by the psychopath test!

  5. sounds like some good reading ,we ve lost sun recently in the uk ,all the best stu

    • Stu, I hope you get the sun back! Every time I visit your blog I add more books o my list. Thanks so much for all your diverse reading (I just loved Kamchatka).

  6. I have heard a lot about The Psychopath Test — looking forward to hearing your thoughts on it!

Leave a comment