Slow Storm by Danica Novgorodoff

slow1596432500.01._SX140_SY225_SCLZZZZZZZ_Slow Storm by Danica Novgorodoff

First Second, New York & London 2008

A beautifully illustrated story of two young people, a  illegal immigrant from Mexico and a women bullied and harassed by her brother and co-workers.  Through a series of incidents they meet and spend time together.

The storm, a mix of thunder, lightening and tornadoes, brews around them and in them.  The landscape,  the people and animals are rendered in stunning ink and water color .

There is not much dialogue, it is not needed.  Novgorodoff uses her art to tell this story, and I loved it.  It is sad, kind and compassionate.  Another fine title from First Second.

4 Comments

Filed under Graphic Novel Challenge, Graphic Novels, Review

4 responses to “Slow Storm by Danica Novgorodoff

  1. I LOVE the cover. I’m going to see if I can hunt this one down at the library!

  2. It sounds like a great book. Hopefully my library has it. I’ve never heard of First Second so I’m going to have to see what else they’ve published.

  3. Pingback: Saturday Review of Books: June 13, 2009 at Semicolon

  4. Pingback: Review: Slow Storm by Danica Novgorodoff | Bart's Bookshelf

Leave a comment